test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

[Suggestion] Grinding isn't fun, some ideas

binto1binto1 Member, Neverwinter Knight of the Feywild Users Posts: 11 Arc User
edited September 2014 in General Discussion (PC)
I think we can all agree, grinding isn't fun, here are some ideas.

Let me start by saying that this isn't a rant. I'm not trying to bash Neverwinter or the Devs. I hope you will look at this as thoughtful constructive criticism. I've been playing NW for more than a year, so I speak from experience. Also IRL, I'm a 3D animator and game developer so I have some understanding of the situation. I understand that creating content is hard and involves lots and lots of man-hours. I also understand that creating repetitive quests is a way to stretch content. But in my opinion, not only is it not fun, it can cause players to leave. Most of the players in my guild have quit NW because they were just tired of it. I've actually inherited the guild because the leaders no longer play. Me, I stubbornly soldier on. But grinding is what caused me to quit WoW years ago and it may soon cause me to quit NW.

Let me try to identify where I think NW succeeds and where it fails. First off, Tyranny of Dragons is the grindiest Module so far. I haven't calculated it exactly, but it'll take well over two months to earn all the boons. Killing the same dragons and completing the same quests day after day for months just is not fun. Yes there's a skirmish and a dungeon too, but it's all just too repetitive and takes too long.