test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

GF Just doesn't feel right

ravenlock99ravenlock99 Member Posts: 68 Arc User
edited January 2014 in The Militia Barracks
I have played all the classes and they all felt "right" to me. When I say right, I mean they played smooth, at-wills, encounters, etc all weaved together nicely in combat. They never felt slow and sticky.

Since I started playing the GF it just feels clunky to me. The whole blocking and marking mechanic just throws off the flow of combat. The AoE taunts are slow, marking a target seems futile and a waste of time. The transition from blocking to your at-will is not smooth at all and sometimes I have to click multiple times to start swinging.

Now this isn't a pure rant or knocking the class, I really do like being the main tank, I just feel the at-wills, encounters, taunts, blocking, marking could use some tweaking to speed up the GF's game play.
Post edited by ravenlock99 on

Comments

• Options
    fondlezfondlez Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited January 2014
    TL;DR. Do not be quick to judge the GF class, especially its fluidity, at least not until you get Threatening Rush.

Some GF playstyles are very fluid, for example if you play Iron Vanguard Conqueror mobility tank playstyle, almost as fluid as GWF.

One of the problems with GF while levelling is that you do not get Threatening Rush until much later levels. This is your main source of marking by far, for both aoe and single target. In addition, it's main use is to dramatically increase the mobility, positioning and re-positioning capability of the class. So, examples,

Aoe tanking:
    - Dailies: Villain's Menace, Fighter's Recovery
    - Features: Combat Superiority, Enhanced Mark (or Trample the Fallen if your damage and experience is high)
    - Encounters: Lunging Strike, Frontline Surge, Anvil of Doom/Enforced Threat.
    - At-Wills: Cleave, Threatening Rush.