test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Current Issues with GF Threat and Abilities

kenji1134kenji1134 Member Posts: 8 Arc User
edited June 2013 in The Militia Barracks
Quick bit of background about me. (Fair warning, wall-of-text INC)
I have been playing MMOs and tanking since about 1997. I have main tanked most of the endgame content in EQ2, Vanguard, Age of Conan, and RIFT. And I now find myself in Neverwinter, and seeing the same old tank problems rearing their ugly heads.

1A. First and foremost, a tank NEEDS to have at least one force taunt. One extremely strong instant aggro tool for getting a mob to go after you.
We currently have nothing of the sort. In fact, some mobs (undead hulks) often completely ignore our hate generating abilities altogether.

1B. As a general extension of the above point, a tank needs to have snap aggro. Right now we rely on our Marks to generate hate over time, and cause us to generate ~3x hate on marked mobs. However this is simply not enough to overcome cleric heal aggro (which often comes in bursts), or to pull off a dps who decides to unload.
More on marks later.

2. Given the sheer number of adds in the game, especially on boss fights, long cooldown abilities which hit limited targets (Enforced Threat, Frontline Surge) are simply not enough.
At 35 we can charge in and apply our marks in a small aoe using Threatening Rush, however the hate over time component is weak, so we now need to actively hit our targets to get some aggro going. But Rush hits one target, Frontline hits maybe 3-5 at best, and is kinda flaky, and Enforced has too long of a cooldown to be reliable.

The solution to this would likely be to GREATLY increase the hate over time component of Marks (and make them last a given duration, not fall off when you get hit). However this would likely mean removing the 3X hate mod for hitting marked targets, and let the marks themselves do the bulk of the work.