test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Trickster Rogue tanking Group Dungeon Boss Fights

dragoonhitdragoonhit Member Posts: 1 Arc User
edited May 2013 in PvE Discussion
I am pretty new to Neverwinter, my rogue only a couple weeks old now and level 36. I've taken to focusing on Power/Crit for stats and taking the time to gear myself through repeated dungeon runs (both boss drops and collecting lion seals) instead of quickly leveling through the insane amount of exp that PVP seems to grant. As a result, I am always top dps. Not bragging (well, maybe a little :P), but as a result, I am always the one being hammered on in the group dungeon fights.

Things were still plenty easy though up until the lair of the mad dragon, Chartilifax. He melted our faces off, but it was so fun that I didn't care we wiped. After a couple of runs, I began to notice a pattern: No one had a plan for him outside chug potions and kill the adds first. I also noticed that Chartilifax continuously targeted me even when I was focusing on mobs. One run he immediately started focusing on me and a thought occurred: Well if I am doomed to be covered in acid, I may as well stand on the opposite side of everyone else. So I did. I killed every imp that came near me, hoping to snare, continuously dodging the acid on one side of the dragon while my party members fought the adds on the other, wailing on the dragon whenever adds were low. After a while, the dragon had moved up towards me, giving me little space to roll around, but giving my allies a huuugge space to work with. It took a good while, but in the end we had won. I did do as much damage to the dragon as I could just to be sure aggro would be with me so even when the party was wailing on him and I was stuck dodging acid.

A quick breakdown of the attacks I noticed:
  • He has a basic melee attack that does around 1000 damage.
  • He also has a simple tail swipe that does a bit of damage but shoos you away from his butt.