test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Creating Outdoor Maps

dareddragonj5dareddragonj5 Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Guardian Users Posts: 12 Arc User
edited April 2013 in The Foundry
I recently started making an outdoor map and a few things had me a bit frustrated. Not sure if there are ways around this as I am new to the Foundry. If you know of any, please feel free to educate me.

1. Editing Terrain - While pre-detailed maps come with trenches and hills, it doesn't appear you can create these things yourself. It would be nice to be able to edit the ground making it deeper or higher creating the ground as you wish. In the Jurassic Park Sim, you were able to do this with a tool that hovered over an area of terrain and either heightened, lowered, or flattened when creating your park. Also changing the look of the ground such as grass, dirt, trail, and so on.

2. Point of view in 3D - When editing in 3D it would be nice to have a God view rather than be stuck at the point of view of the character. In the least, when I drag an object to the edge of the screen, it would be nice if the camera rotated. Is there any way to rotate it rather than having to stop moving the object, turn my character and then continue moving it.

3. Water direction - No matter where I face my water squares, the water flows in one direction. Is there a way to make it flow in another? I figured rotating it would do the trick but it doesn't appear to have an effect.

If anyone has any answers or workarounds, that would be cool. Otherwise, it would be nice to see these things addressed.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Post edited by dareddragonj5 on

Comments

• tilt42tilt42 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited April 2013