test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Tanks - How to keep your party in check?

hc40hc40 Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Guardian Users Posts: 17 Arc User
edited April 2013 in PvE Discussion
Hey peeps,

I'm new to tanking but I think I'm doing fairly well. Running Cragmire..
The problem I'm having is that I can't control party members. There are always the people who are new to the dungeon and want to poke around each room and then there's the people who rush ahead and seem to be perpetually one room ahead of the stragglers... And then there's me in the middle.

I don't want to rush the newbies so they can get a feel for the dungeon but I also want to stay ahead of the charge.
I've yet to have a delve where everybody knew their roles and were patient with each other.

So fellow tanks, my question is...
How do you gain control over an unruly party? Is it even possible or do you just run with the wolves?
Post edited by hc40 on

Comments

• Options
    imivoimivo Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Hero Users, Neverwinter Guardian Users Posts: 1,682 Bounty Hunter
    edited April 2013
    At that level it does not really matter, and later people who play that way probably have died enough times to have learned better. :) I have not tanked in Neverwinter yet, just in other MMOs, but my suggestion would be to communicate. Politely. You can't kick people here and if someone leaves, there will not be a replacement. Ask them to stay behind you and let you lead. If they do not listen, some people will let them die, though personally I would still try my best to make it work.

That, or start building up a list of folks to play with. If you had someone in a group who played well, add them to your friends list.
    Unsure about skills and feats? Check the Master List of Class Builds!
  • Options
    oreoz2573oreoz2573 Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Guardian Users Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited April 2013
    Two solutions: