test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Tanking and threat

dybounddybound Member, Neverwinter Beta Users Posts: 2 Arc User
edited March 2013 in The Militia Barracks
Hi everybody,

I've become a fan of the Guaridan Fighter. The blocking mechanics is enjoyable, and so far it was fun to play.

But... when running a 5-man dungeon I had trouble tanking, because it seems that only the AOE taunt is doing a decent amount of threat (The 1-on-1 skill was ok too).

The "Mark" skill seems rather useless. The marked mob keeps attacking my allies even though they haven't done anything yet. And Stab over the shield also seems to do very little threat (or none at all).

I know it should not be too easy to tank, but it just feels like the GF doesn't have the proper tools to keep aggro at all (just an AoE taunt to force them to attack you for a short amount of time)

Do I miss anything here?

And yes... I'm new to this game, that's why I'm asking for tips :)
Post edited by dybound on

Comments

• stormhammystormhammy Member, Neverwinter Beta Users Posts: 3 Arc User
    edited March 2013
    1) Mark be useful, especially in a 5 man dungeon. Always try to open a fight with it on the biggest target.
    It basically be an instant cast that causes the target to take more damage & more aggro towards you. (Good when you has 5 players hammering said target.)
    2) If you be relying only on the AoE taunt for aggro, you be doing it terribly wrong. Use your damage to augment the aggro. (I.E: AoE taunt draws them to you -> back out a bit to make all enemies go in front of you -> Use Shield block + Sword attack = Moar AoE damage = Moar aggro.)
    darthpanda16: Firefox crashed on me.
    Hawk:Do this. closing thread
    frankieraye: I'll see if we can replace the woman with a stick figure and the tiger fangs with marshmallows./Issues like these need to get escalated quickly to minimize the damage.
    Kantorek: Yeah.. you should try it. It's awesome.