test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

How important is character uniqueness? - discussion

spellwardenspellwarden Member, Neverwinter Beta Users, Neverwinter Guardian Users Posts: 357 Bounty Hunter
edited February 2013 in General Discussion (PC)
Ok, so heaps upon heaps of people come into any RPG gaming from the background of compleatly controlling the direction of their characters. PnP is the king in this respect. And to many it seems it is a selling-point to be able to create a unique character, one that has personality and in some respect differ from all other characters.

While I understand that defining an identity is an integral part in human cognition, and therefore the draw of such mechanics. I have to ask:

Is it really that important?

Now, please read on before you argue against me.

Point 1:Ever since I started playing RPG's, one of the defining aspects has been costumization, and therefore also the ability to learn the system. Baldurs gate was a great example. I restarted characters because if I lowered INT with 1 point, and put it into DEX, I could use this and that item. And this was fun, alot of fun. I compared with my friends and discussed different mechanics. BG2 we did a Ranger/Mage dual-class, that meant we had energy-shield, 2 weapons, buffs and heaps of dmg-bonus and THAC0-bonus.

Then came the internet.