test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

cyber attacks - our account info secure?

hi, i just started playing and i was wondering what is the nature of these cyber attacks? is someone trying to get our account and payment info?

Comments

• Options
    artanisenartanisen Member Posts: 159 Arc User
    beginning to wonder that my self.
    "Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely."
    "Great men are almost always bad men."
    “If God is all-powerful He cannot be good, if God is good He cannot be all-powerful!”
  • Options
    theycallmetomutheycallmetomu Member, NW M9 Playtest Posts: 1,861 Arc User
    DDoS has nothing to do with our account info; it's just the attacker contacting the server repeatedly using system resources.

A "hack" and a DDoS are two different things. Someone who knows more about it can tell you more than I can, I'm afraid.
  • Options
    wylonuswylonus Member, NW M9 Playtest Posts: 2,376 Arc User
    DDOS mean, someone using the program to "Flood it" with junk spams to host side, creating the bootings.
    once it get full, it crashed. so it made server to "reboot it self" with empty server.
    i hope i explain best i could.
  • Options
    neoxyphusneoxyphus Member Posts: 43 Arc User
    The nature is that they are using a network of compromised or even dedicated/rented systems (for example, cloud instances) collectively called a "botnet" to each send requests to a critical resource that is used/depended on by the game. In this case, seems like the account server(s). With the level of automation available at one's fingertips nowadays, one can bring up/shut down botnets at the flip of a switch.

Typical infrastructure practice 10 years ago is to put say, x number of servers behind a virtual IP, or a set of IPs (public facing IPs in both cases). In this case it appears its behind either single or contiguous set of IPs that is easily obtained by just watching an app's login traffic.