test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Game crashing when trying to change screen mode or during boss encounters.

taevannyataevannya Member Posts: 70 Arc User
So I was hoping that with the recent patching my issues with this would be resolved. However, to my dismay, it seems Neverwinter personnel are not considering this issue as wide spread enough to warrant a patch. So, after reading a bit, I'm posting here to see what answers I can come up with.

First of all, I have NO issues running any other games. This includes all Blizzard games, Planetside 2, Borderlands and some other odds n ends. I used to have no issues running Neverwinter in the past on top settings and I've even upgraded my computer since then to a 64bit motherboard, an Nvidia 550 Ti graphics card, SSD, Windows 8.1 (not sure you can call that an upgrade... but that's another gripe) as well as new processor and the like to run everything efficiently. I'm not a computer techie by any stretch, but if given instructions, I'm good at following them. With the Strongholds patch I found myself constantly crashing running around in the Enclave and on boss fights in Skirmishes and Dungeons.

I did a bit of digging and reduced down all my graphics settings and started running the game in 'safe mode'. It took a long time for the game to load to capacity running it in that manner, but it did correct the crashing in the Enclave. However, it did not correct the boss fight crash issues. All my settings are cranked to low/min/or off which makes me sad. My computer capabilities are more than the required specs for running this game on high settings. I'd like to get those back in addition not having to run the game in safe mode anymore.

Oh, another thing I forgot to mention, the game crashes to desktop every time I try to resize the screen. Safe mode only wants me to open it in 800x600 resolution. If I try to adjust screen size in any fashion at any point, the game crashes to desktop.