test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

The Energy Projection Conspiracy

daisolaardaisolaar Posts: 28 Arc User
Something about this game has been bothering me ever since I started playing it. Now, this may make me seem like a conspiracy theorist, but I swear, I'm not crazy. Let's take a moment and look at CO's interpretation of Energy Projection, shall we?

In the beginning, we had Electricity, Fire, Force, Ice, Telekinesis, Telepathy, Darkness, Infernal, & Sorcery. Each power set is great both in functionality & cosmetic appearence, and fits many toon concepts to a T. Infernal has a shadowy tinge and is usually accompanied by flies, Ice is very crystalline in appearence, Darkness loos like a lot of horrible things coming from dimensional rifts, and so on & so forth. Eventually though, some players started wanting to make toons conceptualized around cosmic, or particle, or chi energy projection, which, in current known media, doesn't have a lot of direct distinction.

Well, your average player will instantly think of Force to use for these concepts. But that never works; Force has a unique semi-transparency gimmick to all its visual effects, not to mention that knockback mechanic that tends to hinder more than help in team play. How about Fire? No, both the Fire Power Set & Fire-themed Travel Powers are quite distinct in their smoky visuals and "kindling" SFX. There's always Sorcery, right? Well sure, if you like an over-abundance of arcane runes surrounding everything you generate.