test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Two Big Suggestions For A Better Champions!

Archived PostArchived Post Posts: 1,156,071 Arc User
edited September 2009 in Suggestions Box
Greetings and salutations.

I won't waste your time explaining why we need these, the ideas will speak for themselves.

1. Non-Linear Progression!
Unlike other games, when I take my first steps in Champions Online, I feel a bit bored. I know that it's going to be hours until I'm out of the Crisis in Canada, and by then I'll be, what? Level 8? Level 9 maybe?

I realize I'm a newbie, but a major fault in this game seems to be that when you first start a character out, you're not given the choice of where you'd like to go until you're a much higher level. This is a major problem, because when you're given only your starting powers, you ARE going to feel like that same journey, unlike CoX, where different archetypes offer different beginning experiences.

I'm not trying to sound like a jerk to Champions, but when you start off, your power choices are, as they should be, limited, but limited to ranged/melee, and if you didn't choose custom framework, it's just one or the other. This doesn't bother me; what bothers me is the identical journeys I need to take to turn them into unique heroes.

And maybe I'm wrong. I'm relatively a newbie, but I couldn't find any other starting-ish zones to help me out. Maybe I'm just not looking hard enough. If this is the case? My apologies.

2. The Foe/Mission Experience Discrepancy!
Never have I seen a game where you are rewarded so very little for killing common foes in conjunction with such high rewards for completed missions.
For example; I'm about level 13 on one character, and as I'm working on a mission that rewards 12,000xp, I find myself killing henchmen that give about 40xp, villains that don't offer much more, and Super Villains that still offer minuscule amounts in comparison to the mission reward.