test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Looking for a fleet

stillettostilletto Member Posts: 2 Arc User
I am still new to the game (level 30 Romulan Alien - FED aligned). I am interested in joining a fleet, but need tons of help as the learning curve is steep. I usually play Mon-Fri, 8am-4pm EST (USA). I was wondering if anyone could help with invitations and/pre what to look for in a fleet? I appreciate your advice and suggestions.

Best Answers

• davefenestratordavefenestrator Member Posts: 10,511 Arc User
    Answer ✓
    Welcome to the forums, you should edit your post body and title to include the platform - [PC] [Xbox] [PS4] since there is no cross-play.

One thing to look for it a fleet: reasonable expectations before they will let you buy gear from the fleet stores.

Making fleet gear available requires "provisions" that are created by completing fleet projects, that cost credits and dilithium. So if you buy 3 x space beam arrays, 3 provisions get consumed in addition to what you pay to buy them.

So, it's reasonable for a fleet to ask you to put in (say) 50,000 dil before they let you use the fleet stores. What is not reasonable is if a fleet demands something like an additional 10,000 dil every week, or that you give them x% of all dil that you earn.

Other than that, some fleets want you to do group activities, but many are casual fleets where there is little or no grouping.
  • thunderfoot#5163 thunderfoot Member Posts: 4,540 Arc User
    edited September 2022 Answer ✓
    Something else to look for: How active are members of a fleet? I've been in Fleets where I never saw anyone else in the Fleet ingame. Some of this is due to people playing in different time zones. Some of it is also due to people simply wanting a shopping mall rather than a group of people to play STO with.

Which isn't a bad choice automatically. This game doesn't make you group up to play.