test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

black screen - no game

inyahin#3689 inyahin Member Posts: 46 Arc User
edited November 2021 in PC Gameplay Bug Reports
After today's patch 11/11/2021 all I get when I log in is a black screen.
The only thing that works is the Shift+F1 ARC screen.

Everything else is black
Windows 7 - intel i7 - nvidia 1050ti 4gb

I am getting sound though, as if it's logged me in; but the screen is completely black.


Edit: I've reverified the game client and it's still broken.
Post edited by inyahin#3689 on
«13

Comments

  • chanfron66chanfron66 Member Posts: 107 Arc User
    got exactly same problem, black screen with sound, funny that patch notes are supposed to fix some kind of black screen issue
    "Resolved an issue that was sometimes causing a black screen to appear on machines with Intel cards that don’t have FL11 or higher when launching Star Trek Online. "

    What is FL11

    Game appears to be running ok just screen is black

    Win 7, i7, Nvidia GTX 1080

    Soft Tribble Warm Tribble, Little ball of fur, Happy Tribble, Sleepy Tribble, Purr Purr Purr
    Hard Gorny, Cold Gorny, Big Ball of Scales, Angry Gorny, Fighty Gorny, Hiss, Hiss Hisssss
  • thevaliant47304thevaliant47304 Member Posts: 15 Arc User
    edited November 2021
    I'm having the same problem as well. Game loads, just black screen.

    Win 7, Nvidia GTX 1060.

    I'm seeing a trend here with Win7 and Nvidia cards...

    Edit: Update, checked my Nvidia drivers and they're current.
    Post edited by thevaliant47304 on
  • maximus64maximus64 Member Posts: 28 Arc User
    Same problem here, since today patch: black screen, sound on. Win 7, Nvidia 1050ti.
  • stolokstolok Member Posts: 116 Arc User
    Yep, just tried to login after being in the game this morning with no problems. The screen goes black and stays black.
  • tiberius#0693 tiberius Member Posts: 3 Arc User
    edited November 2021
    Same problem for me, but on Windows 11, AMD Ryzen 5 4600H with Radeon Graphics + NVidia GTX 1650Ti.
  • quihiqasquihiqas Member Posts: 3 Arc User
    Same thing. Black screen, no game after maintenance.
  • cerritourugcerritourug Member Posts: 1,376 Arc User
    Win7 and 11, both broken. I dont think we will gate a fix soon, time to go to Win10.
    __________________________________________________

    Division Hispana
    www.divisionhispana.com
  • Ditto black screen with sound no access
  • keepcalmchiveonkeepcalmchiveon Member Posts: 4,172 Arc User
    hmmm, does not look good...
    im not sure i want to try later...lol.
    will let yall know if i can get in.
    meh

  • paikohm4paikohm4 Member Posts: 8 Arc User
    chanfron66 wrote: »
    got exactly same problem, black screen with sound, funny that patch notes are supposed to fix some kind of black screen issue
    "Resolved an issue that was sometimes causing a black screen to appear on machines with Intel cards that don’t have FL11 or higher when launching Star Trek Online. "

    What is FL11

    Game appears to be running ok just screen is black

    Win 7, i7, Nvidia GTX 1080

    Probably Feature Level 11 of dx12.
  • kkiutt#8517 kkiutt Member Posts: 1 New User
    same here,, also on Nvidia,, maybe that is the issue
  • naralyth#4870 naralyth Member Posts: 11 Arc User
    +1 GTX 960 , Windows 7 64 bit
  • tomquantumtomquantum Member Posts: 8 Arc User
    Win 7, GTX 770 64 bit - black screen. I was not planning to upgrade windows until the bitterest of bitter ends because windows 10 is horrible. But apparently it's broken even for win 11 lol.
  • inyahin#3689 inyahin Member Posts: 46 Arc User
    edited November 2021
    tomquantum wrote: »
    I was not planning to upgrade windows until the bitterest of bitter ends because windows 10 is horrible.
    windows 10 is horrible do not want.
  • twooftwo#4909 twooftwo Member Posts: 4 Arc User
    Same problem,running Windows 7, Direct X already latest version as are the graphics card drivers, black screen with music playing, can even click on spot where the characters would be shown and you hear it loading their map. Tried restarting, installing it under Arc (was launching it through steam), running it in safe mode. Nothing worked. GPU AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series. Works on my Windows 10 laptop.
  • xindax76xindax76 Member Posts: 40 Arc User
    After today's patch 11/11/2021 all I get when I log in is a black screen.
    The only thing that works is the Shift+F1 ARC screen.

    Everything else is black
    Windows 7 - intel i7 - nvidia 1050ti 4gb

    I am getting sound though, as if it's logged me in; but the screen is completely black.


    Edit: I've reverified the game client and it's still broken.

    Got the same problem on my W7.
    In my ticket #634528, GM Navi wrote:
    "We've received other reports of this same issue. It is a known issue and the developers are currently investigating.
    Unfortunately Customer Service is unable to resolve the issue directly so we will need to wait for the fix to come from the development team.
    We are currently unaware of an ETA for a potential fix."

    I hope it will be fixed soon, event RA is on the way...
  • xindax76xindax76 Member Posts: 40 Arc User
    tomquantum wrote: »
    I was not planning to upgrade windows until the bitterest of bitter ends because windows 10 is horrible.
    windows 10 is horrible do not want.
    But we must have WX, because in February 2022 Cryptic will not support W7.
  • euar0euar0 Member Posts: 68 Arc User
    After today's patch 11/11/2021 all I get when I log in is a black screen.
    The only thing that works is the Shift+F1 ARC screen.

    Everything else is black
    Windows 7 - intel i7 - nvidia 1050ti 4gb

    I am getting sound though, as if it's logged me in; but the screen is completely black.


    Edit: I've reverified the game client and it's still broken.

    Verified and changed to min graphics settings. . still broken.


  • Hi,
    I have the same black screen on starting the game. Sound only. The game is working because I can tell by randomly cliking on things the sound and music changes. I was running the game via steam, uninstalled and reinstalled to play through arc. You get exactly the same.

    I am running Win7, with an NVIDA Geforce GTX660

    Its been this way since upgrading to latest patch, worked fine yesterday and everyday I have played before that. I was recently thinking - "Wow, I am lucky to have never experinced a big issue with this game..." - I clearly jinxed it! :D
  • razorphazorrazorphazor Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    I also have this now. All black after login, not even a visible CRYPTIC logo during bootup or anything... sound seems to work though. I can hear the icon sounds when moving my mouse, when it hovers above the char selection panels. From there i just close the window from the taskbar. Really hope for a quick fix!

    System specs: Win 7 64bit, Core i5 4570, GTX 970, latest drivers
  • kleenhippiekleenhippie Member Posts: 14 Arc User
    Same here Windows 7
  • aquilonia#9571 aquilonia Member Posts: 4 Arc User
    Same issue here. Windows 7, GTX 1080 card. Great job, guys.
  • snoxhill#9306 snoxhill Member Posts: 4 Arc User
    Same issue, 2 PC. 1st: W7, Intel i5, RX 570. 2nd: W10 Intel i7, GTX 1080.
  • tarm#4754 tarm Member Posts: 1 New User
    PC Patch Notes for 11/11/21
    By Ambassador Kael | Wed 10 Nov 2021 06:44:15 PM PST
    General:
    Resolved an issue that was sometimes causing a black screen to appear on machines with Intel cards that don’t have FL11 or higher when launching Star Trek Online.
  • syrupofsquillsyrupofsquill Member Posts: 139 Arc User
    Black screen after 10/11 or 11/11 update(fake date on title vs real date). Seems like the startup page the game displays with CBS Viacom and physx normally shown is gone or missing and wont progress. Win 7 Haswell quad core RX550
  • Sweet, they fixed it for some, and broke it for many more....awesome Patch.
  • And the worst thing is, no mod here giving us any information about timetables and such.
  • Quick, someone get tech support to flip the switch from Intel back to Nvidia ! :p
  • n1ghtshad0w22n1ghtshad0w22 Member Posts: 5 Arc User
    Not working here, Nvidia card (2080).

    Cant play anymore !
  • kaithan1975kaithan1975 Member Posts: 947 Arc User
    And the worst thing is, no mod here giving us any information about timetables and such.

    Maybe the mods don't know? They're mods, not tech support.
Sign In or Register to comment.