test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Welcome to House United

2»

Comments

  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    matzdaad wrote: »
    Update to todays update...

    Got to see my character selection screen and even managed to change to a different character, (the pro).
    Game is unplayable, flickers all over the place at about 3-4 per second, random blue blobs that are marked 'federation cruiser' (or whatever), game unplayable. EXTREMELY irritating. (some of the cons).
    This just sounds like your game data is corrupted, or your computer is dying.

    Have you completely deleting the game from your hard drive, and redownloading the whole thing?

    uninstalled ARC and STO and reinstalled, absolutely no change...
    Now... How long till the next "patch" and how many patches will it take to fix the problem?
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    questerius wrote: »
    matzdaad wrote: »
    questerius wrote: »
    minidari wrote: »
    Welcome, but not for all.
    For me is welcome to black screen

    @minidari
    @matzdaad
    That happens to me from time to time. For some reason the game does not launch. I usually close the game launcher through task manager (Ctrl-Alt-Delte) and restart without problems.

    If that does not work, clear your cache and try again.

    (I have been doing the Alt/Control/Delete practically every time I have logged on.)
    Is there only 1 cache? Where do I find it?

    The launchers uses the browser you use to launch so clearing the history from your browser should clear out the cache as well.

    I deleted history from all 3 browsers I use, no change.
    (IE 10, Chrome, and MS Edge.)
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    I'm glad the finale is concluded in the regular story missions. :)
    The TFO part in the United blog sounded a bit like the story conclusion might be there.
    New missions were mostly enjoyable but have somewhat underwhelming reward options.
    I'm not saying that there needed to be new items made for the rewards, but a couple extra choices would have been nice, drawn from the pool of readily available items, such as beam arrays, torpedo launchers and the like..

    Yeah, the item reward for each is very... meh.

    Since I can't get in at least I feel better that I'm not missing out on a Ultimate Tech Upgrade.

    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • westmetalswestmetals Member Posts: 7,176 Arc User
    edited June 4
    coldnapalm wrote: »
    westmetals wrote: »
    coldnapalm wrote: »
    matzdaad wrote: »
    Update to todays update...

    Got to see my character selection screen and even managed to change to a different character, (the pro).
    Game is unplayable, flickers all over the place at about 3-4 per second, random blue blobs that are marked 'federation cruiser' (or whatever), game unplayable. EXTREMELY irritating. (some of the cons).
    This just sounds like your game data is corrupted, or your computer is dying.

    Have you completely deleting the game from your hard drive, and redownloading the whole thing?

    Or...you know, the game is bugged to hell and back. There are several thread open about people not being able to load the game...or having it crash...and even if they do get in, their weapons stop working. Nothing to do with somebody's computer dying. You and the Cryptic defense squad needs to get off that horse already.

    There may be several threads about those bugs but they are not affecting everyone. (I've been absolutely unaffected except by the DRB manual bug that I've been harping on for ten weeks now). And the description this guy is giving matches none of those bug threads anyway.

    And before you haul off on me... I am not the "Cryptic defense squad". But you're starting to become the irrational anti-Cryptic squad and that's just as bad. I will stand right here and applaud you for rational, truth-based attacks, but this one isn't that.

    Actually, the issue he was having before the update post is pretty much what a lot of other people have been having. The update could be because his files got corrupted, which is why I did not poopoo Som's suggestion for a re-install. That one is actually good advice. But at this point, considering I have an issue that nobody else seems to have and one that is most certainly NOT hardware related no matter how much darkblade and friends try to say otherwise (because you know, a dying ram or CPU or GPU will run a game that is 10x more resource intensive than STO while crashing on STO because those parts are old and overworked...right...that makes total sense...not). So what is more likely the case, 1) he went from having an issue that many people have reported in the software to a new software issue just as he was able to log in OR 2) his hardware suddenly started to have issues JUST as he logs into the game? If the second is the case...what are the chances of STO being the CAUSE of the hardware damage at that point? Also unless what he states is happening in other games...what are the chances that such a damage to one's GPU to cause such actions would ONLY affect STO? Stating that this game is currently in a more buggy than normal state (bugged to hell and back) just a statement of fact at this point. Please don't play the Som's card of saying you don't have an issue to try and dismiss people who do...and some rather major ones at that.

    Yeah, but the update - which is the post I had actually quoted and was replying to - described an entirely new problem which is pretty clearly some sort of graphics issue (whether it's on his end or not is beside the point) that I have not seen anyone else report (which kinda points toward it being on his end somehow).

    I was not at all trying to play the "I don't have a problem so you don't have a problem" card. I was just saying that the issue that matsdaad described - not yours - sounded like a localized problem which very well COULD be an issue with his machine.

    (Though I will say, the weapons bug wasn't affecting everyone, either, so your description of the game being completely unplayable was simply not universally true.)

    YOU were the one who then tried to broaden the scope of what I said to apply to everyone and every bug that exists and then blame me for your interpretation not making sense.
  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    edited June 18
    westmetals wrote: »
    Yeah, but the update - which is the post I had actually quoted and was replying to - described an entirely new problem which is pretty clearly some sort of graphics issue (whether it's on his end or not is beside the point) that I have not seen anyone else report (which kinda points toward it being on his end somehow).

    I was not at all trying to play the "I don't have a problem so you don't have a problem" card. I was just saying that the issue that matsdaad described - not yours - sounded like a localized problem which very well COULD be an issue with his machine.

    (Though I will say, the weapons bug wasn't affecting everyone, either, so your description of the game being completely unplayable was simply not universally true.)

    YOU were the one who then tried to broaden the scope of what I said to apply to everyone and every bug that exists and then blame me for your interpretation not making sense.

    What I don't understand is why my graphics work perfectly fine everywhere else but not on STO just an hour or two after the last update? (May 25th that is)

    Strange coincidence or a wrench in the code?

    Oh... anyone have a link to something that gives graphics a good work-out?

    EDIT: Jun 18. Downloaded Neverwinter (A Perfect World, Cryptic, Arc game) and it ran fine, no graphics problems even on minimum settings, so it does not seem to be my computer or Arc (as Arc ran Neverwinter). Add to that the 'problem' happened right after the 5/25 "update"...
    Post edited by matzdaad on
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • westmetalswestmetals Member Posts: 7,176 Arc User
    matzdaad wrote: »
    westmetals wrote: »
    Yeah, but the update - which is the post I had actually quoted and was replying to - described an entirely new problem which is pretty clearly some sort of graphics issue (whether it's on his end or not is beside the point) that I have not seen anyone else report (which kinda points toward it being on his end somehow).

    I was not at all trying to play the "I don't have a problem so you don't have a problem" card. I was just saying that the issue that matsdaad described - not yours - sounded like a localized problem which very well COULD be an issue with his machine.

    (Though I will say, the weapons bug wasn't affecting everyone, either, so your description of the game being completely unplayable was simply not universally true.)

    YOU were the one who then tried to broaden the scope of what I said to apply to everyone and every bug that exists and then blame me for your interpretation not making sense.

    What I don't understand is why my graphics work perfectly fine everywhere else but not on STO just an hour or two after the last update? (May 25th that is)

    Strange coincidence or a wrench in the code?

    Oh... anyone have a link to something that gives graphics a good work-out?

    It could be that your in-game graphics settings - and by that I mean the ones inside STO, not your computer - somehow got reset to minimums.
  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    edited June 5
    There was a 'notice' that my graphics had been reset,
    but I am not able to find out any more info until things get fixed.
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    edited June 9
    totenmet wrote: »
    It says: "Odds of winning depend on # of eligible entries received."

    So what are the odds? I guess 1 on a million or less?

    Why are the actual odds not communicated? In some countries it is illegal to not do so.

    The odds are simple...
    If you are the only one to enter your odds of winning are 100%,
    If a Billion people enter your odds of winning are 1 in a Billion.

    Post edited by matzdaad on
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • westmetalswestmetals Member Posts: 7,176 Arc User
    edited June 5
    coldnapalm wrote: »
    westmetals wrote: »
    coldnapalm wrote: »
    westmetals wrote: »
    coldnapalm wrote: »
    matzdaad wrote: »
    Update to todays update...

    Got to see my character selection screen and even managed to change to a different character, (the pro).
    Game is unplayable, flickers all over the place at about 3-4 per second, random blue blobs that are marked 'federation cruiser' (or whatever), game unplayable. EXTREMELY irritating. (some of the cons).
    This just sounds like your game data is corrupted, or your computer is dying.

    Have you completely deleting the game from your hard drive, and redownloading the whole thing?

    Or...you know, the game is bugged to hell and back. There are several thread open about people not being able to load the game...or having it crash...and even if they do get in, their weapons stop working. Nothing to do with somebody's computer dying. You and the Cryptic defense squad needs to get off that horse already.

    There may be several threads about those bugs but they are not affecting everyone. (I've been absolutely unaffected except by the DRB manual bug that I've been harping on for ten weeks now). And the description this guy is giving matches none of those bug threads anyway.

    And before you haul off on me... I am not the "Cryptic defense squad". But you're starting to become the irrational anti-Cryptic squad and that's just as bad. I will stand right here and applaud you for rational, truth-based attacks, but this one isn't that.

    Actually, the issue he was having before the update post is pretty much what a lot of other people have been having. The update could be because his files got corrupted, which is why I did not poopoo Som's suggestion for a re-install. That one is actually good advice. But at this point, considering I have an issue that nobody else seems to have and one that is most certainly NOT hardware related no matter how much darkblade and friends try to say otherwise (because you know, a dying ram or CPU or GPU will run a game that is 10x more resource intensive than STO while crashing on STO because those parts are old and overworked...right...that makes total sense...not). So what is more likely the case, 1) he went from having an issue that many people have reported in the software to a new software issue just as he was able to log in OR 2) his hardware suddenly started to have issues JUST as he logs into the game? If the second is the case...what are the chances of STO being the CAUSE of the hardware damage at that point? Also unless what he states is happening in other games...what are the chances that such a damage to one's GPU to cause such actions would ONLY affect STO? Stating that this game is currently in a more buggy than normal state (bugged to hell and back) just a statement of fact at this point. Please don't play the Som's card of saying you don't have an issue to try and dismiss people who do...and some rather major ones at that.

    Yeah, but the update - which is the post I had actually quoted and was replying to - described an entirely new problem which is pretty clearly some sort of graphics issue (whether it's on his end or not is beside the point) that I have not seen anyone else report (which kinda points toward it being on his end somehow).

    I was not at all trying to play the "I don't have a problem so you don't have a problem" card. I was just saying that the issue that matsdaad described - not yours - sounded like a localized problem which very well COULD be an issue with his machine.

    (Though I will say, the weapons bug wasn't affecting everyone, either, so your description of the game being completely unplayable was simply not universally true.)

    YOU were the one who then tried to broaden the scope of what I said to apply to everyone and every bug that exists and then blame me for your interpretation not making sense.

    Having an issue be something on his end is NOT THE SAME AS THE REPEATED CLAIMS OF YOUR COMPUTER IS BROKEN because you can't come up with something better to defend Cryptic with. That being said, I would have assumed that the poster would mention if something similar happened elsewhere as that would be a rather key bit of information for trouble shooting. And the issue being with JUST STO as I assumed is confirmed at this point. With it NOT happening elsewhere, the most logical source of the problem is STO itself. If your computer is actually dying, it's not gonna manifest itself in just one program. If your problem is with just the one program, guess what, 99.9999999% of the time, the issue is the one program that is causing the problem...and wasting everyone's time with useless things like it's overclocking or your ram is dying in hopes that the person you are talking to is a complete moron helps nobody. I had to replace my GPU not too long ago because it was ACTUALLY on it's way out...guess what, I had graphical issues with pretty much EVERY game I ran when that was happening,

    And where did I say the problems were universal? Somehow manage to get in implies that people can in fact get in. Hell I can get in and play...just takes a few crashed before I get a session long enough to actually be called playing the game. And what part of RANDOMLY is universal to you?

    Chill. I was not the one who "repeatedly" claimed his computer WAS broken. I never used the term "overclocking" nor "RAM" nor anything technical. I said - once - that it could be an issue with his machine, but I meant a local issue (rather than server-side) and that it could be hardware OR software.

    And yes I did directly say it could be the graphics settings inside STO.

    I WAS NOT TRYING to address YOUR situation (other than to say your attacks are irrational) so PLEASE STOP ATTACKING ME for inadequately responding to you. Or for that matter "defending Cryptic" because I am not. As I said I will stand right here and applaud you for attacks that MAKE SENSE. However you have gone way past that and are attacking anything that moves.
  • westmetalswestmetals Member Posts: 7,176 Arc User
    matzdaad wrote: »
    There was a 'notice' that my graphics had been reset,
    but I am not able to find out any more info until things get fixed.

    If you are able to get as far as the login screen (or all the way into the game) you should be able to access the options, including the in-game graphics settings, menus.
  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    edited June 7
    Re: Graphics.
    It said "graphics have been reset to recommended default"
    I was never able to 'ok' that, button just didn't work.

    Re: Login screen, to me that is just at the beginning where you hit 'engage'... Could not find anything about graphics. Do you mean the 'character selection screen'? (which I can't get to).
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • phoenixc#0738 phoenixc Member Posts: 3,738 Arc User
    Maybe launching the game in safe mode could reveal something. Either way, I would recommend starting a ticket on the problem so the game devs can take a look (they will probably have you run a session of the game with verbose logs turned on among other things).

    Also, if you normally run it in fullscreen mode you could try running it in widowed fullscreen instead or vice versa (if you haven't already).
  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    edited June 7
    coldnapalm wrote: »
    Wait...I was under the impression you were able to get into the character selection screen (what I would consider the login screen as that is the screen you see as soon as you are actually logged in). If you can't and the screen is black when you hit the engage button, you basically have the same issue that many people have had for weeks. If it is doing some weird graphical thing instead of a black screen, but can't get to the character selection screen, that sounds close to the known issue that some people have had so more likely to be related. The main things about the black screen is that you don't see the Cryptic letters with the load bar at the bottom at all...so if the weird graphical thing did that without those, I would say it is almost certainly related. If not...more likely to be a separate issue.

    Actually managed to get to the character selection screen (CSS) today and changed characters.
    When I get the totally black screen (except for the hour-glass) I bring up task manager and kill game execute.
    Second try (USUALLY) works...

    If the CSS comes up again I will look for options/graphics.
    Q: Is 'recommended graphics settings' with all at maximum? (My built in GPU may not be able to handle that).

    Matz

    (Well... Maybe the CSS will come up again tomorrow, or sometime in the next month :neutral: )
    Post edited by matzdaad on
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • westmetalswestmetals Member Posts: 7,176 Arc User
    edited June 7
    matzdaad wrote: »
    coldnapalm wrote: »
    Wait...I was under the impression you were able to get into the character selection screen (what I would consider the login screen as that is the screen you see as soon as you are actually logged in). If you can't and the screen is black when you hit the engage button, you basically have the same issue that many people have had for weeks. If it is doing some weird graphical thing instead of a black screen, but can't get to the character selection screen, that sounds close to the known issue that some people have had so more likely to be related. The main things about the black screen is that you don't see the Cryptic letters with the load bar at the bottom at all...so if the weird graphical thing did that without those, I would say it is almost certainly related. If not...more likely to be a separate issue.

    Actually managed to get to the character selection screen (CSS) today and changed characters.
    When I get the totally black screen (except for the hour-glass) I bring up task manager and kill game execute.
    Second try (USUALLY) works...

    If the CSS comes up again I will look for options/graphics.
    Q: Is 'recommended graphics settings' with all at maximum? (My built in GPU may not be able to handle that).

    Matz

    (Well... Maybe the CSS will come up again tomorrow, or sometime in the next month :neutral: )

    I was going by your previous post, which in part read:
    Game is unplayable, flickers all over the place at about 3-4 per second, random blue blobs that are marked 'federation cruiser' (or whatever), game unplayable.

    This made me think that perhaps somehow your graphics settings were forcibly reset to the minimum settings, causing the graphics to display at an unacceptably low quality.
  • azael#8280 azael Member Posts: 1 Arc User
    :s
  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    Well, no joy from the last update... I still have not been able to get to the CSS again.
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    edited June 20
    Still stuck on the same character as I can't seem to get back to the CSS.
    So I decided to assign 'duties' to my DOFF's, only took 33 minutes to assign 20 to one character, I used to be able to do all 9 characters in less time...
    I suppose it could be worse, like if I paid for a lifetime subscription
    (which I don't see myself doing, at least not until I can go a year or so without 'issues').

    (so many) days and counting...
    Post edited by matzdaad on
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    Downloaded Neverwinter (Perfect World. Cryptic, Arc) No problem getting in even launching through Arc.
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    Got to see my character for a bit today, when I went to 'change character' I noticed 'options' (same window as 'change character'). In options selected graphics all settings were at maximum. Just need to find the right set.
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    edited June 21
    BLAH! I reset to default, I could see my character and where she was... movement however sucked.
    I'll wait for the fix. (Before the 5/25 'update' graphics were recommended default and play was smooth).
    Post edited by matzdaad on
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    (sigh) No joy from today's maintenance. I think about a 10 camping trip is in order...
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




  • matzdaadmatzdaad Member Posts: 175 Arc User
    edited July 7
    Camping was great! 12 days at our trailer in the hills of West Virginia. :smiley:
    Did Force Verify, still no joy in Muddville. :neutral:

    Edit: Did it get fixed for everyone but me...?
    MatzDaad
    Fleet: 8th Expeditionary Command
    Member since 2/15/2012




Sign In or Register to comment.