Weapons Won't Fire

245

Comments

  • pwablo#0854
    pwablo#0854 Member Posts: 4 Arc User
    edited May 2021
    Just to set the record straight..... this bug was introduced with the patch on the 25th. It affects all weapons fore and aft, energy, experimental, torps and protoypes (like kinetic cutting beam). Leaving combat and re-slotting the weapons sometimes works but for how long is no guarantee, as the bug will frequently return once it has already happened on the current map. Leaving the map completely restores the weapons but the next map will almost always see the bug resurface again at some point. Re-spawing on a current map restored the weapons but again, only for a limited period of time before the bug resurfaces again. Uninstalling/Reinstalling the game has no effect at resolving the bug.
    There does not appear to be any lasting work around for this issue yet that i have found and i have tried everything i can think of so far.
    Everyone who is experiencing this bug should submit a ticket so they get the volume of requests to escalate the issue to the dev team.
    IMO the game is currently broken and unplayable and will remain so until its fixed.
  • tkleese#4083
    tkleese#4083 Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited May 2021
    I've had the same issue. I've been talking with a GM about it and we tried a few extra things like:

    -Verify your game files by going into Options in the game launcher, checking the Force-Verify box, click Save, then let the verification process complete.
    -Set 'On-demand patching' to disabled, patch to the full version, and see if this resolves the issue.

    Also did a fresh reinstall of the game (Using the Arc client, not steam), and the issue persists.

    And that's also on top of all the other temporary fixes (dying, relogging, changing maps, unequipping/reequipping, etc)

    I was also informed by the GM after everything we went through that the issue would be escalated to the Development team with this thread as a reference. So I mean...it's a start? Tell people about this thread and get them to post to it as well if they're having the same issues.

    EDIT: Question to anyone else having this issue, are you going through Steam or the Arc client?
  • roninwolf1981#2968
    roninwolf1981#2968 Member Posts: 270 Arc User
    I've had the same issue. I've been talking with a GM about it and we tried a few extra things like:

    -Verify your game files by going into Options in the game launcher, checking the Force-Verify box, click Save, then let the verification process complete.
    -Set 'On-demand patching' to disabled, patch to the full version, and see if this resolves the issue.

    Also did a fresh reinstall of the game (Using the Arc client, not steam), and the issue persists.

    And that's also on top of all the other temporary fixes (dying, relogging, changing maps, unequipping/reequipping, etc)

    I was also informed by the GM after everything we went through that the issue would be escalated to the Development team with this thread as a reference. So I mean...it's a start? Tell people about this thread and get them to post to it as well if they're having the same issues.

    EDIT: Question to anyone else having this issue, are you going through Steam or the Arc client?
    In my case, it's via Steam.
  • steeltalons#6463
    steeltalons#6463 Member Posts: 8 Arc User
    edited May 2021
    alfanx01 wrote: »
    I noticed something similar with torpedos, activating Torpedo high yield, it was charged and ready, was within the firing arc but would not fire at all.

    So far, only beams are affected. Not sure about cannons and turrets, I have a Mirror Patrol Escort, but it's TRIBBLE by today's update--you can't upgrade, so no usage.

    Turrets and cannons are also affected, regardless of what slot they are in. The only weapons I've been able to get working are Experimentals and consoles (phaser PD for example)... so big bug they've introduced with the latest patches....
  • roninwolf1981#2968
    roninwolf1981#2968 Member Posts: 270 Arc User
    alfanx01 wrote: »
    I noticed something similar with torpedos, activating Torpedo high yield, it was charged and ready, was within the firing arc but would not fire at all.

    So far, only beams are affected. Not sure about cannons and turrets, I have a Mirror Patrol Escort, but it's TRIBBLE by today's update--you can't upgrade, so no usage.

    Turrets and cannons are also affected, regardless of what slot they are in. The only weapons I've been able to get working are Experimentals and consoles (phaser PD for example)... so big bug they've introduced with the latest patches....

    That's basically every ship weapon: beam arrays, cannons/turrets, and (in my case) torpedo launchers.
  • tkleese#4083
    tkleese#4083 Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    So a bit of an update, I've tested on both steam and arc...no difference, it still happens (as I suspected, but had to try).

    A friend and I have tested a few things, and the issue doesn't happen when we don't use Cannon Scatter Volley, Rapid Fire, Beam Overload or Fire at Will. Only "seems" to affect energy weapons, as it hasn't happened to torps or experimental weapons for me at this point. Hopefully that helps the Devs that read this.
  • raijinmeister#1931
    raijinmeister#1931 Member Posts: 165 Arc User
    So a bit of an update, I've tested on both steam and arc...no difference, it still happens (as I suspected, but had to try).

    A friend and I have tested a few things, and the issue doesn't happen when we don't use Cannon Scatter Volley, Rapid Fire, Beam Overload or Fire at Will. Only "seems" to affect energy weapons, as it hasn't happened to torps or experimental weapons for me at this point. Hopefully that helps the Devs that read this.

    I got my torps disabled more than once and I had or THY or TS slotted when it happened.
  • steeltalons#6463
    steeltalons#6463 Member Posts: 8 Arc User
    edited May 2021
    So a bit of an update, I've tested on both steam and arc...no difference, it still happens (as I suspected, but had to try).

    A friend and I have tested a few things, and the issue doesn't happen when we don't use Cannon Scatter Volley, Rapid Fire, Beam Overload or Fire at Will. Only "seems" to affect energy weapons, as it hasn't happened to torps or experimental weapons for me at this point. Hopefully that helps the Devs that read this.

    While I can't say for sure this is what is causing it, it does seem the bug happens when using your Tac BOFF abilities - anything that modifies the weapon's function, such as HY, TS, C:RF etc seems to trigger it on the respective weapon type. Just done a run through of one of the missions (both with and without BOFF ability activation), and didn't have it happen when not using them.

  • roninwolf1981#2968
    roninwolf1981#2968 Member Posts: 270 Arc User
    So a bit of an update, I've tested on both steam and arc...no difference, it still happens (as I suspected, but had to try).

    A friend and I have tested a few things, and the issue doesn't happen when we don't use Cannon Scatter Volley, Rapid Fire, Beam Overload or Fire at Will. Only "seems" to affect energy weapons, as it hasn't happened to torps or experimental weapons for me at this point. Hopefully that helps the Devs that read this.

    While I can't say for sure this is what is causing it, it does seem the bug happens when using your Tac BOFF abilities - anything that modifies the weapon's function, such as HY, TS, C:RF etc seems to trigger it on the respective weapon type. Just done a run through of one of the missions (both with and without BOFF ability activation), and didn't have it happen when not using them.

    This is bad...

    Some of us under-powered n00bs depend on the TAC abilities just to land the decisive blow so that someone else doesn't end up stealing the kill and robbing us of an endeavor point.
  • daderganonumbers
    daderganonumbers Member Posts: 62 Arc User
    I also have experienced this issue.
  • horridperson
    horridperson Member Posts: 659 Arc User
    I'm experiencing the same issue. My ship of choice is cannon build raiders and it's caused some click-click-click moments that have turned my alpha strikes into omega strikes; For me :( . If anything is working it just tickles my target and makes them mad.
    battlegroupad_zps8gon3ojt.jpg

  • arabatur
    arabatur Member Posts: 400 Arc User
    I'll add my pitchfork to this on going bug.
    Definitely not an Arc User.
  • supers#7398
    supers#7398 Member Posts: 28 Arc User
    So a bit of an update, I've tested on both steam and arc...no difference, it still happens (as I suspected, but had to try).

    A friend and I have tested a few things, and the issue doesn't happen when we don't use Cannon Scatter Volley, Rapid Fire, Beam Overload or Fire at Will. Only "seems" to affect energy weapons, as it hasn't happened to torps or experimental weapons for me at this point. Hopefully that helps the Devs that read this.

    While I can't say for sure this is what is causing it, it does seem the bug happens when using your Tac BOFF abilities - anything that modifies the weapon's function, such as HY, TS, C:RF etc seems to trigger it on the respective weapon type. Just done a run through of one of the missions (both with and without BOFF ability activation), and didn't have it happen when not using them.

    ^^ THIS

    Me and my bf have tested it, so two different accounts. Not using TAC abilities that affects directed energy weapons and no guns were taken offline. BUT... the weird thing is, if we're playing the newest TFO 'Remain Klingon' we can use all the abilities we want...

    Still, this is a gamebreaking bug to say the least and I really hope we get a nudge from the developers that they are on to it. While I can do a fair bit of damage without abilities one can't just go on playing like this for the foreseeable future.
  • captsxcol
    captsxcol Member Posts: 10 Arc User
    So a bit of an update, I've tested on both steam and arc...no difference, it still happens (as I suspected, but had to try).

    A friend and I have tested a few things, and the issue doesn't happen when we don't use Cannon Scatter Volley, Rapid Fire, Beam Overload or Fire at Will. Only "seems" to affect energy weapons, as it hasn't happened to torps or experimental weapons for me at this point. Hopefully that helps the Devs that read this.

    While I can't say for sure this is what is causing it, it does seem the bug happens when using your Tac BOFF abilities - anything that modifies the weapon's function, such as HY, TS, C:RF etc seems to trigger it on the respective weapon type. Just done a run through of one of the missions (both with and without BOFF ability activation), and didn't have it happen when not using them.

    ^^ THIS

    Me and my bf have tested it, so two different accounts. Not using TAC abilities that affects directed energy weapons and no guns were taken offline. BUT... the weird thing is, if we're playing the newest TFO 'Remain Klingon' we can use all the abilities we want...

    Still, this is a gamebreaking bug to say the least and I really hope we get a nudge from the developers that they are on to it. While I can do a fair bit of damage without abilities one can't just go on playing like this for the foreseeable future.

    Nice to see the community de-bugging the issue and communicating it.
    Pity we have to do the leg work and we get zero updates on our tickets.
  • alfanx01
    alfanx01 Member Posts: 43 Arc User
    captsxcol wrote: »
    So a bit of an update, I've tested on both steam and arc...no difference, it still happens (as I suspected, but had to try).

    A friend and I have tested a few things, and the issue doesn't happen when we don't use Cannon Scatter Volley, Rapid Fire, Beam Overload or Fire at Will. Only "seems" to affect energy weapons, as it hasn't happened to torps or experimental weapons for me at this point. Hopefully that helps the Devs that read this.

    While I can't say for sure this is what is causing it, it does seem the bug happens when using your Tac BOFF abilities - anything that modifies the weapon's function, such as HY, TS, C:RF etc seems to trigger it on the respective weapon type. Just done a run through of one of the missions (both with and without BOFF ability activation), and didn't have it happen when not using them.

    ^^ THIS

    Me and my bf have tested it, so two different accounts. Not using TAC abilities that affects directed energy weapons and no guns were taken offline. BUT... the weird thing is, if we're playing the newest TFO 'Remain Klingon' we can use all the abilities we want...

    Still, this is a gamebreaking bug to say the least and I really hope we get a nudge from the developers that they are on to it. While I can do a fair bit of damage without abilities one can't just go on playing like this for the foreseeable future.

    Nice to see the community de-bugging the issue and communicating it.
    Pity we have to do the leg work and we get zero updates on our tickets.

    Is Craptic suddenly becomes Microsoft development team?

    AFAIK, I experience this ONCE, and it was the Legacy of Romulus, fortunately, simply swapping out the weapon to inventory and back fixed the issue, and it's not annoying--I remember going through 3 STF or more before my weapons no longer fire.

    Is Craptic purposely bringing OLD bugs back?
  • jetmoto417
    jetmoto417 Member Posts: 1 Arc User
    I have had this bug a lot lately. I noticed once that my cannons were working fine, but after I used Canon Scatter Volley I, half of them stopped firing and nothing I did would get them firing again!
  • supers#7398
    supers#7398 Member Posts: 28 Arc User
    jetmoto417 wrote: »
    I have had this bug a lot lately. I noticed once that my cannons were working fine, but after I used Canon Scatter Volley I, half of them stopped firing and nothing I did would get them firing again!

    Yes. Direct damage abilities like Overload, Fire at Will, Scattery Volley and so on is either the main issue or a definate part of it. Indirect abilities though like Kemocite-Laced Weaponry still work. But TFO's pretty much take a whole lot longer and you have BOFF seatings you can't use. Which is... sad.

    As people have said before, everyone that can confirm all of this please send in a support ticket and reference this and other threads like it so we gain visibility with developers on this issue.

  • roninwolf1981#2968
    roninwolf1981#2968 Member Posts: 270 Arc User
    edited May 2021
    jetmoto417 wrote: »
    I have had this bug a lot lately. I noticed once that my cannons were working fine, but after I used Canon Scatter Volley I, half of them stopped firing and nothing I did would get them firing again!

    Yes. Direct damage abilities like Overload, Fire at Will, Scattery Volley and so on is either the main issue or a definate part of it. Indirect abilities though like Kemocite-Laced Weaponry still work. But TFO's pretty much take a whole lot longer and you have BOFF seatings you can't use. Which is... sad.

    As people have said before, everyone that can confirm all of this please send in a support ticket and reference this and other threads like it so we gain visibility with developers on this issue.

    It's worth a shot, but I have to add that Cryptic is aware of this issue.

    I am not on Twitter myself; I simply stumbled upon this response while scouring both here and the STO subreddit.
    https://twitter.com/BorticusCryptic/status/1397981755605340160
  • alcyoneserene
    alcyoneserene Member Posts: 2,412 Arc User
    I take it that 'fixed internally' means it'll be live on next patch, since I just had 2 fore weapons lock out and on a raider that doesn't leave much.
    Y945Yzx.jpg
    Devs: Provide the option to Turn OFF full screen flashes from enemy ship explosions
    · ♥ · ◦.¸¸. ◦'¯`·. (Ɏ) V A N U _ S O V E R E I G N T Y (Ɏ) .·´¯'◦.¸¸. ◦ · ♡ ·
    «» \▼/ T E R R A N ¦ R E P U B L I C \▼/ «»
    ﴾﴿ ₪ṩ ||| N A N I T E S Y S T E M S : B L A C K | O P S ||| ₪ṩ ﴾﴿
  • supers#7398
    supers#7398 Member Posts: 28 Arc User
    I am not on Twitter myself; I simply stumbled upon this response while scouring both here and the STO subreddit.
    https://twitter.com/BorticusCryptic/status/1397981755605340160

    That gives some comfort I guess, but it's a long way until next Thursday unless it is a quick server-side fix. Fingers crossed I guess, and thank you for finding this.

  • xarynn2058
    xarynn2058 Member Posts: 158 Arc User
    This happened just now for me. Flying a Titan in a quick Argala run all the energy weapons except for the rear firing Dyson Proton weapon stopped working from the second carrier spawn onward. It basically stripped the ship of 2 DHCs, a turret, and the experimental ion projector.
    Torps continued to function through the rest of the patrol.
    S1J6m8B.jpg
  • fleetcaptain5#1134
    fleetcaptain5#1134 Member Posts: 3,235 Arc User
    And of course it wasn't fixed despite two maintenances this week.

    Cryptic, ffs, how do you expect people to play an event 20 times if they can't even fire their weapons?
    [4:46] [Combat {self}] Your Haymaker deals 23337 (9049) Physical Damage(Critical) to Spawnmother

    [3/25 10:41][Combat (Self)]Your Haymaker deals 26187 (10692) Physical Damage(Critical) to Orinoco.
  • maniac20#5251
    maniac20#5251 Member Posts: 253 Arc User
    edited May 2021
    Same here and for me it has gotten to the point where only my experimental weapon works or if on a carrier character my hanger pets. I just ran 3 patrols 2 without boff weapon abilities and had all weapons working and just did 1 with them and opening salvo 2 weapons stop working with cannon rapid and torp spread.
    Post edited by maniac20#5251 on
  • britannia1986
    britannia1986 Member Posts: 16 Arc User
    Just had this issue happen to me. i popped into a patrol to quickly do a deal antiproton damage in space endeavour and all of my cannons and 2 out of 3 aft beams jammed up. had to completely exit out to character select to fix the issue.
  • strathkin
    strathkin Member Posts: 2,655 Bug Hunter
    I saw they said to ensure that 5/25 patch ensure the Cinematic Focus (Depth of Field) was enabled on Graphics TAB if I remember correctly.

    I think that might be the cause, or so they claimed on their twitter earlier (few days) ago.

    Still there seems to be a few Graphical related issues that started around 4/28 thru 5/25, from some seeing just Black Screens upon launching to several others.
    0zxlclk.png
  • supers#7398
    supers#7398 Member Posts: 28 Arc User
    strathkin wrote: »
    I saw they said to ensure that 5/25 patch ensure the Cinematic Focus (Depth of Field) was enabled on Graphics TAB if I remember correctly.

    I think that might be the cause, or so they claimed on their twitter earlier (few days) ago.

    Still there seems to be a few Graphical related issues that started around 4/28 thru 5/25, from some seeing just Black Screens upon launching to several others.

    This isn't a graphical issue though. Weapons stop working, and the trigger is using TAC direct energy damage abilities like Overload, Fire at Will, Cannon Scatter Volley, Cannon Rapid Fire and so on and so forth.
  • danieluniversal
    danieluniversal Member Posts: 14 Arc User
    I've had the same issue. I've been talking with a GM about it and we tried a few extra things like:

    -Verify your game files by going into Options in the game launcher, checking the Force-Verify box, click Save, then let the verification process complete.
    -Set 'On-demand patching' to disabled, patch to the full version, and see if this resolves the issue.

    Also did a fresh reinstall of the game (Using the Arc client, not steam), and the issue persists.

    And that's also on top of all the other temporary fixes (dying, relogging, changing maps, unequipping/reequipping, etc)

    I was also informed by the GM after everything we went through that the issue would be escalated to the Development team with this thread as a reference. So I mean...it's a start? Tell people about this thread and get them to post to it as well if they're having the same issues.

    EDIT: Question to anyone else having this issue, are you going through Steam or the Arc client?

    I'm using ARC, having this issue too... Hope they fix this ASAP, really is a bug that do the game be impossible to play...

    Love the game with all of its bugs and etc, the story and graphics are great. but without fire weapons, it's hard...