test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

High DPS players need a new place to whale in public ques...

Comments

• seaofsorrowsseaofsorrows Member Posts: 10,918 Arc User
    edited January 2021
    strathkin wrote: »

I think that's a very FAIR and reasonable ask, still I avoid Elite missions like the Plague, as do 80-90% or more of the player base; but if there were a few more Elite's, perhaps the whales spend more time in them... ...but not necessarily true either.

Just to clarify one small point.. doing high DPS doesn't make you a 'whale.'

I can only speak for myself personally, but I spend very little on this game, during the last wave of end of year sales I spent exactly $0 and haven't spent any 'real' money on this game in years. Some of us have simply been playing a long time, I have been playing fairly constant since 2004, others have played longer. Over that time you learn how to get things in game and I have had plenty of time to save up my in game resources.

Yes, there are those that just throw their wallet at the screen, and that's fine.. those people keep the lights on for the rest of us, but just because someone can put out good DPS doesn't mean they are one of these players.

It does seem that one thing all of us agree on is that the difficulty needs an adjustment, at least where normal is concerned. I will use this as an example of what I mean:
    This is about where I am, though I find advanced fairly easy in most ships, it is not remotely appropriate for me to do normal. The last few characters I've leveled never even set foot in a normal queue.

In a perfect system, that to me.. sounds like what Normal should be brought to. Right now, there is a fairly big difference between normal and advanced and there is a very severe difference from Advanced to Elite. Most people would agree that 'normal'' mode isn't actually normal.. it's more like 'face roll insta win easy.' What I would do personally:

1. Remove all Normal queues completely.