test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Do you want a Race Change Token

Do you want a Race Change Token 45 votes

Yes
33%
bigblackafricacolonelmariksalazarrazeevilmark444trekkie1074crm14916relicthiefjacklewis404knightnblurevanindustriesapheex#3641kurukaze#7201nickkyana#2794atlantis#9395robertpinner#5866 15 votes
No
66%
eve1964scififan78timelords1701guljarolzarato4218bloodyrizltminnsarabaturrattler2seaofsorrowsspacehermitthunderfoot#5163liantheliapoddlibosshogg#7203trennanfuryofthefugaleemwatsondavefenestratortm706 30 votes

Comments

  • rattler2rattler2 Member Posts: 55,676 Community Moderator
    No
    As much as people would like this... the Devs have already spoken on the subject.
    66998372863950ee98cf7da9786e2ea9-db80k0m.png
    I can't take it anymore! Could everyone just chill out for two seconds before something CRAZY happens again?!
    The nut who actually ground out a Delta Pack, Temporal Pack, and Gamma Pack
    The resident forum voice of reason (I HAZ FORUM REP! YAY!)
  • trennantrennan Member Posts: 2,839 Arc User
    No
    The Dev's have stated this is an original code problem, and it's not something they can do, as Rattler pointed out in her dev's statement. Just expanding on it a bit.
    Mm5NeXy.gif
  • phoenixc#0738 phoenixc Member Posts: 4,304 Arc User
    No
    The only possible use I would have for a race change token would be if they made Vorta available to the Dominion so I could get rid of that nasty toad, and the devs have made it fairly clear that they are not interested in fleshing out the Dominion any more so it will remain a single-race unlock for the foreseeable future. And even if they did it would be simple enough to just start a Vorta and delete the useless J'H.
  • rattler2rattler2 Member Posts: 55,676 Community Moderator
    No
    Didn't they say that the story was from a Jem'Hadar perspective? Vorta aren't frontline soldiers like the Jem'Hadar.
    66998372863950ee98cf7da9786e2ea9-db80k0m.png
    I can't take it anymore! Could everyone just chill out for two seconds before something CRAZY happens again?!
    The nut who actually ground out a Delta Pack, Temporal Pack, and Gamma Pack
    The resident forum voice of reason (I HAZ FORUM REP! YAY!)
  • nixie50nixie50 Member Posts: 999 Arc User
    with the exception of one of a kinds, like gamble box stuff that binds to char, there is no reason to have a reroll token. now what I would be in favor of is a re-box token, so that Lobi ship can be re-boxed and sent to another toon on the account. and yes, keep the thing account bound.
    u7acy6aymfw7.gif
    We Need BERETS in the tailor
  • phoenixc#0738 phoenixc Member Posts: 4,304 Arc User
    edited April 2020
    No
    rattler2 wrote: »
    Didn't they say that the story was from a Jem'Hadar perspective? Vorta aren't frontline soldiers like the Jem'Hadar.

    That depends on how you look at it.

    Vorta are not ordinary foot soldiers, mass wave shock troops, or whatever, but every single ship and base shown in the series were commanded by Vorta, NOT Jem'Hadar. So while they do not schlep around a rifle and pack with the low level grunts they definitely are combatants.

    On top of that, the showrunners and Jeffrey Combs all said Vorta were the James Bonds of the Dominion, they spy, troubleshoot in unconventional ways, or directly command the frontline troops in the field. The whole "meek helpless little old me" stuff was all part of the disinformation Weyoun was feeding the Federation.

    The ironic part is that of all of the factions and races, the canon Vorta most closely resemble the player-character and npc minions structure of the game, the only "real" person on their ship, yet they are not a race available in the game (or at least not in the Dominion character generator).

    And even though the starter scenario itself was written specifically for Jem'Hadar most of it could be reused for Vorta and other combative species from the Dominion territory by adding a cutscene at the beginning telling the player characters that in order to command forces in the field they have to learn how those forces operate, so they are sending the PC on a typical J'H training mission to familiarize them with it.
  • lianthelialianthelia Member Posts: 7,704 Arc User
    No
    rattler2 wrote: »
    Didn't they say that the story was from a Jem'Hadar perspective? Vorta aren't frontline soldiers like the Jem'Hadar.

    Well to be honest, Admirals aren't away team officers/frontline soldiers but we do stuff like that every day in STO, so if Admirals can run around on Borg cubes and hostile aliens worlds I see no reason why a Vorta couldn't do the same.
    #WithoutRespectWeReject
  • leemwatsonleemwatson Member Posts: 4,646 Arc User
    edited May 2020
    No
    slugis wrote: »

    Because of how the episodes are structured, especially in recognizing Faction/Race/Career Track (maybe sex) your character is hard-coded/baked and cannot be changed without ripping out the original code that the game runs on. This is not going to be achieved by just a flick of a switch.
    "You don't want to patrol!? You don't want to escort!? You don't want to defend the Federation's Starbases!? Then why are you flying my Starships!? If you were a Klingon you'd be killed on the spot, but lucky for you.....you WERE in Starfleet. Let's see how New Zealand Penal Colony suits you." Adm A. Necheyev.
  • oclosoclos Member Posts: 35 Arc User
    edited May 2020
    Well a Vorta/Alien gen would be useful, though with the liberties some users take with canon in STO(read: Canon atrocities level changes) I can see were it(alien gen) could prove to be a problem(e.g. someone thinking it cool to make a Borg or any other race than Vorta or Founder or not dependant on Ketracel Jem'Hadar possibly leading Jem'Hadar or something paradoxical like that). I didn't know the devs ever told about character species change and it's the first reference about it I happened to bump to.

    Never saw it on the wiki either. Should be listed in the upcoming content with updates about why its not possible or if it becomes possible at some point. I have two Jem'Hadar and I think I might want to re-purpose one at some point. It would be better in such cases if I could just change that one to Vorta or other when they become available, than start over(well unless they change the starting story etc. to go with it, which sounds unlikely considering the resources it would require, but at the same time, I don't want to say it's not happening, cause who knows with these things). Though, to be fair, they do often provide a free slot usually when they add something new like that.
    Post edited by oclos on
    Adm. Necheyev didn't own ANY Starfleet ships. Starfleet did. Also she didn't make one bolt, connect a single wire, gelpack or device, or otherwise helped on making them. I find it presumptuous she claimed it was HER ships. In fact saying as much would probably warranty a reprimand from any of her superiors in Federation and possibly not participating in said actions as other superior personnel do, would in our days(2409 onwards) result in herself facing the same fate as what she has threatened, in that same penal colony.
  • westmetalswestmetals Member Posts: 8,401 Arc User
    No
    Rename tokens don't even work properly, let's fix that first. (I renamed one of my characters years ago, but the original name still shows up in the header of the DOFF assignment screen.)
  • ussvaliant#6064 ussvaliant Member Posts: 1,006 Arc User
    No
    No thank you not a feature that is required
    maR4zDV.jpg

    Hello rubber banding my old friend, time to bounce around the battlezone again, where are all my bug reports going?, out of love with this game I am falling, As Cryptic fail to acknowledge a problem exists, Shakes an angry fist, And from Support all I'm hearing are the sounds of silence.
  • salazarrazesalazarraze Member Posts: 3,789 Arc User
    Yes
    Yes but the answer has already been given in the past that this will likely not happen.
    When you see "TRIBBLE" in my posts, it's because I manually typed "TRIBBLE" and censored myself.
  • scififan78scififan78 Member Posts: 1,383 Arc User
    No
    I voted no on this even though there is one character I could see being able to make use of this. If they ever made lockbox vanity shields account bound then that reason is gone. It is so easy to make a new character and get it leveled up that a race change really don't make a whole lot of sense. Like stated up before, if they ever made a way to make any unique bound to character item/ship to be repackaged for character transfer, that would be ideal.
  • keepcalmchiveonkeepcalmchiveon Member Posts: 4,143 Arc User
    slugis wrote: »

    so you posted a Q and A but i see no reasoning from you for the post. why would you want one?
  • kurukaze#7201 kurukaze Member Posts: 23 Arc User
    Yes
    rattler2 wrote: »
    As much as people would like this... the Devs have already spoken on the subject.
    trennan wrote: »
    The Dev's have stated this is an original code problem, and it's not something they can do, as Rattler pointed out in her dev's statement. Just expanding on it a bit.

    While I voted yes, I wasn't thinking about a fully race interchangeable functionality, more about something among these lines:
    The only possible use I would have for a race change token would be if they made Vorta available to the Dominion so I could get rid of that nasty toad, and the devs have made it fairly clear that they are not interested in fleshing out the Dominion any more so it will remain a single-race unlock for the foreseeable future. And even if they did it would be simple enough to just start a Vorta and delete the useless J'H.


    The basic idea would be to add a token that allows to change from 'Alien' (only) to newly created species. In these cases, the programming would only need to care with a very limited option range, mostly with locking options from a table that has nearly all options unlocked. Basically something that can be covered while creating the new species for the game - and offer a second path of refinancing the effort. The most recent example would ATM just allow to go from 'Alien' to Cardassian for all the folks who did Cardassian looking toons with the Alien options before Cardassians became available. Pretty sure we could have gotten Cardassians for the standard additional species pricing if done this way.

    As for people saying 'But Jem'Hadar were also possible to do with the Alien options!' - right, but to make this work your toon would also need a faction change token. It could be allowed to go from Jem'Hadar to Jem'Hadar Vanguard, though.
  • phoenixc#0738 phoenixc Member Posts: 4,304 Arc User
    edited May 2020
    No
    rattler2 wrote: »
    As much as people would like this... the Devs have already spoken on the subject.
    trennan wrote: »
    The Dev's have stated this is an original code problem, and it's not something they can do, as Rattler pointed out in her dev's statement. Just expanding on it a bit.

    While I voted yes, I wasn't thinking about a fully race interchangeable functionality, more about something among these lines:
    The only possible use I would have for a race change token would be if they made Vorta available to the Dominion so I could get rid of that nasty toad, and the devs have made it fairly clear that they are not interested in fleshing out the Dominion any more so it will remain a single-race unlock for the foreseeable future. And even if they did it would be simple enough to just start a Vorta and delete the useless J'H.


    The basic idea would be to add a token that allows to change from 'Alien' (only) to newly created species. In these cases, the programming would only need to care with a very limited option range, mostly with locking options from a table that has nearly all options unlocked. Basically something that can be covered while creating the new species for the game - and offer a second path of refinancing the effort. The most recent example would ATM just allow to go from 'Alien' to Cardassian for all the folks who did Cardassian looking toons with the Alien options before Cardassians became available. Pretty sure we could have gotten Cardassians for the standard additional species pricing if done this way.

    As for people saying 'But Jem'Hadar were also possible to do with the Alien options!' - right, but to make this work your toon would also need a faction change token. It could be allowed to go from Jem'Hadar to Jem'Hadar Vanguard, though.

    In the case of the Dominion it would not be people wanting to "legitimize" fake Jem'Hadar (before ViL the horneytoads were practically nonexistent in social areas, and seeing a Vorta was much, much more likely), it would overwhelmingly be the people who have made Vorta via other factions' "alien" who would want them to be Dominion instead. And that would not be a race change, it would be a faction change on top of the devs bringing out "alien" as a race choice for the Dominion, which is a totally different thing from what you are talking about.

    It would be a lot easier for the devs to switch any Cardassian ships or costume pieces or whatever into account unlocks instead of character unlocks (they have already shown that is possible) and have the player create a new Cardassian character to use them than to try to make race change tokens. If you go back and research stuff in the forums and other places like livestreams and whatnot on the subject of factions and races tied to those factions (I did over the Vorta question) it becomes clear that they are implemented in a very kludgy way that no one likes to mess with too much.

    In fact, I suspect that in the case of the Vorta and aliens for the Dominion they might have to create a separate faction with the same unlocks and only pretend they are the same because of the kludges to make the gee-wiz endgame-only fad thing happen for the Jem'Hadar. In fact, that may be the real source of the Vorta problem instead of it really being a case of taking Weyoun's disinformation about Vorta being meek and helpless (as a way of putting the Federation off guard) at face value despite all the onscreen evidence to the contrary.
  • ussvaliant#6064 ussvaliant Member Posts: 1,006 Arc User
    No
    Race change only if it allows a Non-Binary-Gender Neutral-Unidentified Lifeform choice. If not then I'll just purchase a character slot and make one.
    maR4zDV.jpg

    Hello rubber banding my old friend, time to bounce around the battlezone again, where are all my bug reports going?, out of love with this game I am falling, As Cryptic fail to acknowledge a problem exists, Shakes an angry fist, And from Support all I'm hearing are the sounds of silence.
  • ltminnsltminns Member Posts: 12,481 Arc User
    edited May 2020
    No
    Why would I want one? I created what I wanted to begin with. Racial Traits are fairly meaningless for the most part.
    'But to be logical is not to be right', and 'nothing' on God's earth could ever 'make it' right!'
    Judge Dan Haywood
    'As l speak now, the words are forming in my head.
    l don't know.
    l really don't know what l'm about to say, except l have a feeling about it.
    That l must repeat the words that come without my knowledge.'
    Lt. Philip J. Minns
  • keepcalmchiveonkeepcalmchiveon Member Posts: 4,143 Arc User
    im wondering if this is more focused on wanting to use a ship the OP likes and transferring it to a toon the OP likes, thus providing the "swap" but acting under the guise of race changing and in effect garnering the end result of mix and match until you find the perfect fit...for the OP..

    aside from that, not sure what benefit it would provide since you can start one and be FA within days.
  • qultuqqultuq Member Posts: 709 Arc User
    > @keepcalmchiveon said:
    > im wondering if this is more focused on wanting to use a ship the OP likes and transferring it to a toon the OP likes, thus providing the "swap" but acting under the guise of race changing and in effect garnering the end result of mix and match until you find the perfect fit...for the OP..
    >

    That would be the only reason I would want to switch. I wasn’t much interested in Galor when I was playing a Klingon. But am way more interested in one now that I have a Cardi (sorry for the “racial” slur (or is it a “special slur”)).

    Wish I got the Breen suit before they shoved it in the Lobi store too... I never have flown those Breen ships I unlocked.
  • colonelmarikcolonelmarik Member Posts: 1,904 Arc User
    Yes
    I said yes, because I have a Klingon character who was meant to be a TOS Klingon, but had to be made as an alien because the TOS Klingons were not possible at the time.
    Once, I was simply called Mojo. Now, I'm forced into a new name, but don't be fooled, I'm the original STO Mojo!

    This game needs detailed crafting, exploration and interaction systems.
  • phoenixc#0738 phoenixc Member Posts: 4,304 Arc User
    No
    I said yes, because I have a Klingon character who was meant to be a TOS Klingon, but had to be made as an alien because the TOS Klingons were not possible at the time.

    I have one exactly like that, but as far as I know of there still is no TOS Klingon option besides going the 'alien' route. Even if there was, there is little point to a race change coupon since it would not actually change anything significant.
  • evilmark444evilmark444 Member Posts: 6,774 Arc User
    Yes
    Would I like the option? YES! Do I think it will ever happen? No, because a lot of the stuff from the early days are apparently spaghetti code, which means giving us a race change option would both take a lot of development time and probably break a bunch of unrelated things.
    Lifetime Subscriber since Beta
    eaY7Xxu.png
Sign In or Register to comment.