test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Mudd's Market - Discussion and Feedback

Comments

• hippiejonhippiejon Member Posts: 1,581 Arc User
    There are two explanations for this the first one is that they allowed gecko to have control over this.

It's honestly not Al's style. It is however , exactly the style of Andre Emerson , our game's current EP.
    Truth is, we will never know who thought this was a good idea, so it's best not to actually pin it on anyone except to say that it's the decision of money counters in suits and not the Devs working in the trenches (as it were).

• pwecangetlostpwecangetlost Member Posts: 538 Arc User
    > ... If it hasn't been sold at that price previously ...

Not quite true - Cryptic introduces all ship packs with an initial sale price, only going back to the regular price later on. I'm no lawyer but I bet the law is like in the US where it's illegal if it is only ever sold at the sale price and never at list price.

The NEWS item claims the sale prices will change. All they have to do is cycle through what is and is not on sale.

That also answers @westx211 's concern.

Obviously laws change between regions, but in the UK:

"Broadly, any price comparisons of this kind must not be misleading. For example:
    to claim that products are on sale, you should show the previous price and should have been selling at that price for a meaningful period of time
    you must not claim a discount against the recommended retail price (RRP), if the RRP is significantly higher than the price generally charged for the product
    you should not claim that you are selling at an introductory price if you plan to continue selling at that price indefinitely, or to stop selling the product after the introductory period"