test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Announcing STO: The Peacemakers

paxfederaticapaxfederatica Member Posts: 1,496 Arc User
edited June 2019 in Fan Creations
As you probably know, I am a veteran mission author in The Foundry for Star Trek Online. Between 2011 (when that UGC tool debuted) and April of 2019 (when it was retired from the game), I completed and published fifteen unique missions for Starfleet and/or Federation-allied Romulan Republic player characters, and converted five of those for Klingon Defense Force player characters, for a total of 20 published missions - two of which were spotlit by Cryptic Studios. I also had a few other missions still in various stages of development at the time of the Foundry "sunset" announcement.

Like many of my fellow Foundry authors, I have been taking steps to remain active as a STO-related story creator, and to ensure that the stories and characters I created for Foundry missions live on in some form(s) or other after the sunset. My initial concept for this project was to simply convert my old Foundry mission stories into other format(s), such as traditional prose, screenplay-style, or even "Choose Your Own Adventure"-style interactive fiction; with only minor updates. As I began to plan out my efforts, however, it eventually became apparent that a full-scale reboot of my story continuity is in order instead. This is mainly for three reasons:
  1. I wrote my original Foundry missions to complement the main STO storyline, but over the years that storyline has evolved and been retconned (mainly to support the addition of new factions and subfactions, as well as content related to Star Trek: Discovery) to such an extent that if those had been in place from Day One, I might have written them much differently.