test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Damage Resistanse % and the 75% Ablative Plating cap

lordmerc22lordmerc22 Member Posts: 776 Arc User
Me and a friend got a bit confused over the cap on resistance and if it is base or final

I am an engineer. My Ablative Plating skill says in description 75% is max resistance anyone can go.

I use a Voth Bastion however and using a combination of engineering team, brace for impact, Crystalline Absorb Matrix console skill while threatening I get the below result which is over 80%:on my ship window as shown in the screen below

https://imgur.com/thfvNF2

What is correct? cause if I hover my cursor over resistances it clearly states the % stated on that window is my Actual Final Resistance(which is over the 75%). Is the 75% the cap for base resistances before hitting any of the skills I mentioned? Is it the final cap and our ship window is wrongly showing more than that? Generally speaking I believe tooltips could use some improvement to be more clear and direct

Comments

• tom61stotom61sto Member Posts: 3,635 Arc User
    75% actual is the cap for normal non-'Bonus' armor. However, there's now abilities that grant 'Bonus' armor that has a less aggressive diminishing returns curve, as well as let's you go over 75% actual resistance. I'm not sure which of those actives you list are 'Bonus' as the Wiki doesn't list them as having that language ('Bonus' being a special thing has not been constant), and there's a possibility of something else interacting with them giving a boost too.
  • lordmerc22lordmerc22 Member Posts: 776 Arc User
    edited June 2019
    Yes that is the problem, the way tooltips are a lot things are unclear.

I think the percentage by extra skills like eng fleet III does work though cause I do notice a different on incoming damage
    Post edited by lordmerc22 on
  • odinforever20000odinforever20000 Member Posts: 1,849 Arc User
    edited June 2019
    lordmerc22 wrote: »