test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Enhancement for the Duty Office Assignments

tobywitczaktobywitczak Member Posts: 208 Arc User
I have been plying STO for almost three years now. I can honestly say that I spend most of my time doing character maintenance vs actually playing the game. This comes down to four areas. DOFF Missions, Admiralty Missions, Accolade Hunting, and reward Hunting. For the purposes of this discussion I will only discuss the DOFF Missions.

Right now DOFF Missions are broken down into categories. Each categories has its own screen.
  • Current Map
  • Personal
    • Department Heads
    • First Officer
    • Diplomatic Assignments (FED)
    • Marauding Assignments (KDF)
    • Trade Assignments
  • Engineering
    • Engineering Assignments
  • Operation
    • Colony Assignments
    • Development Assignments
  • Science
    • Science Assignments
    • Exploration Assignments
  • Medical
    • Medical Assignments
  • Tactical
    • Military Assignments
    • Espionage Assignments
  • Security
    • Espionage Assignments

This structure does not serve a point other than making the player have to jump back and forth finding Assignments to send DOFFs. In addition the Department Heads don’t serve any real purpose other than allowing for Enabling the First Officer Recommendations.

My proposed solution is to flatten out the assignments window by having one sortable window where the player can decide the criteria for which missions are important to the player (Assignment Chains, Mission Rewards, Experience, Commendation XP, EC, or Dilithium, Time to Complete, Most likely of success)