test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Question about NPC contacts

bberge1701bberge1701 Member Posts: 726 Bug Hunter
I'm just getting started with the Foundry, and I'm looking for some advice on how to implement something (if it's even possible).

What I'm hoping to achieve is for the player to talk to a character on a ground map, then have that character (or a copy of that character) follow the player around. Is there a way to do this?

Best Answer

• spiritbornspiritborn Member Posts: 4,248 Arc User
    Answer ✓
    bberge1701 wrote: »
    I'm just getting started with the Foundry, and I'm looking for some advice on how to implement something (if it's even possible).

What I'm hoping to achieve is for the player to talk to a character on a ground map, then have that character (or a copy of that character) follow the player around. Is there a way to do this?
    no there isn't, though as with everything you can sort of fake it by having patrol NPC group go from point A to Point B with the player but this needs a rather linear map and will start to look weird if the player doesn't move at same pace as the NPC group.

Answers

• bberge1701bberge1701 Member Posts: 726 Bug Hunter
    edited February 2018
    Thanks for the reply! I did some additional research myself, and came to the same conclusion.

I'd be happier with that if I had some way of turning off the NPC group when it reached point B, or substituting them with stationary NPCs at that point. Is there some clever way of doing that? So far, I think all the triggers I've seen rely on some player action, not the action of the NPC group.

I suppose if the NPCs fought another group, defeating them could turn off the first group. However, in my story the group I want to move around are supposed to be non-combatants.
  • duncanidaho11duncanidaho11 Member Posts: 7,867 Arc User
    edited February 2018