test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Game Breaking: How many crashing thanks to the update?

dragonhef01dragonhef01 Member Posts: 407 Arc User
So far, can't play any STFs At All(already made my graphics adjustments to custom medium). Crashes right after start. Seems to happen in space social areas as well. My 2011 i3 laptop is Fully Optimized...not now I guess. More to follow

Comments

• arkyboyarkyboy Member Posts: 118 Arc User
    I have a 2010 i5 laptop, I've been playing STO & been a lifetime member for over 6 years & I've never had any issue playing this game until the pre-patching for this update started. Now when I log on, within 30 secs the game either locks up or goes black screen or does both & crashes. Completely unplayable for me. I'm calling BULL$**T on this one!!!!
    [img][/img]Screenshot%2067_zps8ijfhubt.png
  • dragonhef01dragonhef01 Member Posts: 407 Arc User
    Yep, THIS SUCKS!!!
  • exosstyrbjoernexosstyrbjoern Member Posts: 13 Arc User
    edited October 2016
    Here too, first no letters, fixed it with starting in safe mode, loaded another char, again no letters, now every 2 out of 3 map changes or char changes result in a freeze, waited for 10 minutes, still frozen, had to shut down the game client, which is really annoying when it happends occasionally, but with nearly every map change?
    For a playthrough of the new episode on one single char + doffing on my other chars it took me 40 restarts!!!

P.S: Things I noticed:
    it doesn't matter if safe mode is on or not
    it doesnt matter if the new lighting is on or not
    freezes happening most of the time at 93%

Edit:
    it doesn't matter if dx 11 or dx9 is selected
  • lucho80lucho80 Member Posts: 6,600 Bug Hunter
    If your game won't load no matter what you do you have two options. One you will like if you can pull it off, and one you'll hate, specially if you're on a data cap.