test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Ground Shields

docwatsyn#0722 docwatsyn Member Posts: 4 Arc User
edited August 2016 in The Academy
Having a bit of an issue with Ground Shields. They are being depleted after a single shot from an enemy. Happens no matter which shield I have equipped or what enemy I am facing. I have tried different ground shields and they all seem to suffer from this. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, it's getting annoying.

Comments

• Options
    davefenestratordavefenestrator Member Posts: 10,512 Arc User
    What is the shield mark level, what is your own rank?

A mark VI shield being hit with a Mark XII enemy weapon will be depleted in one shot.
  • Options
    edited August 2016
    I am currently Rear Admiral, Upper Half (46), currently equipped with a Recoil Compensating Armor Mk X. But this has been happening since I started playing (about a month ago) and no matter what shields I swap to, it's always the same story. I've tried shields with anti-polaron/phaser/disruptor boosts (is that the correct term?) and still the same.

And how exactly am I able to tell the strength of the enemies weapon? I usually play the Episodes and have been playing Foundry missions quite a bit.
  • Options
    jaguarskxjaguarskx Member Posts: 5,945 Arc User
    At Rear Admiral Upper Half I believe you should have access to Mk XII gear. Therefore, I recommend you switch to armor and shield of that mark level if you can afford to do so. Uncommon (green) and rare (blue) should be fairly inexpensive on the Exchange. Shields with energy type modifiers like [Dis] for disruptors and [Pla] for plasma typically means the shield has something like a 20% resistance to that energy damage type.