Cant Customize any ship "Outfit uses invalid parts"

crazyj1987
crazyj1987 Member Posts: 12 Arc User
edited June 2015 in PC Gameplay Bug Reports
Hi there

yesterday everything was working fine but i logged in today and wanted to change my randomized Escort back to a default Saber skin.

Yet in the customize Screen nothing i click actually changes and if i click "purchase" i get "Outfit uses invalit parts"

I tried it on different characters with the same result

Is this a general bug that is beeing worked on or is there something I can do myself.

Thanks!
Post edited by crazyj1987 on

Comments

  • ltminns
    ltminns Member Posts: 12,481 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    Same thing with a character outfit I tried to change colors on last night on Risa. When loading a saved bikini with different colors, it squaked about invalid parts, the bottom went black and the top loaded with the saved color.
    'But to be logical is not to be right', and 'nothing' on God's earth could ever 'make it' right!'
    Judge Dan Haywood
    'As l speak now, the words are forming in my head.
    l don't know.
    l really don't know what l'm about to say, except l have a feeling about it.
    That l must repeat the words that come without my knowledge.'
    Lt. Philip J. Minns
  • hawku001x
    hawku001x Member Posts: 10,658 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    Here too. Tried customizing a Research Science Vessel, at Earth Spacedock, but no parts would change, randomize didn't work, and exiting the customization area got me "Outfit uses invalid parts".
  • rikersdad
    rikersdad Member Posts: 74 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    Same here, trying force verify
  • vfpfyasko1
    vfpfyasko1 Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    Same here, i sent in a ticket. I can't customize on only 1 character, in the ship creator. But i can use the ship creator/character creator just fine on all my other accounts.
  • selonat
    selonat Member Posts: 3 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    I posted this in another thread, but I'll put it here too.

    I may be compleatly wrong, but I'm an amature coder, and I have a guess on what's going on.

    Within the STO "library", there are lists of each item and wether you have them or not.

    (In JS, it would look something like this:

    var heavyEscort === false (or) 0;
    var dsScienceVessel === true (or) 1;

    etc.)

    Each "var" has a set of child values, such as: abilities, BO slots, customizations, etc.

    Here is what I think is happening.

    Instead of the ships being named in the library, they probably have designated numerical IDs.
    Say, for example, you have a ship who's ID is #001. You will not be able to customize ships #002, #003, #004, and #005.

    But what if the developers acidentially wrote ship #005 as #001? When you go to customize your ship, the tailor sees two #001s, and gets mixed values. It begins using models that don't fit with each other and are incompatable. This confuses the game, and reads that parts you dont have are invalid, explaining the invalid parts message you get.

    This also explains the message you get when trying to load a costume: "Unable to load costume because of type or old costume data".

    Your costume is seen as a different "type" but still appears when you click load due to the ID.
  • falconforce2051
    falconforce2051 Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    I've also been having issues with a single (new) character unable to customize starships. Each time I try it simply resets to default with 'outfit uses invalid parts' popping onto my screen. I tried to delete and recreate the character, thinking my problem might have been related to skipping the tutorial, yet the error came up yet again. Submitted a ticket more than 3 hours ago, and a ticket number flashed on my screen when I created it, but when I go to check on the status of the ticket, nothing shows up, so I'm a little confused, as well as more than a bit frustrated...
  • jd3ct
    jd3ct Member Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    I cannot customize any of my ships either. The costume tailor is fine, But I cannot edit the ship costumes at all.
  • kryshals
    kryshals Member Posts: 7 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    Same here, it instantly resets to default, no matter what I do, on any character. Way to break another one.
  • ndragon
    ndragon Member Posts: 4 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    Same for me..
    Cant modify some ships like the commander rank escort/cruiser or the Ambassador while others like the Samsar, pilot Escort and Xindi Carrier work fine.
  • siriusmusictown
    siriusmusictown Member Posts: 108 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    selonat wrote: »
    I posted this in another thread, but I'll put it here too.

    I may be compleatly wrong, but I'm an amature coder, and I have a guess on what's going on.

    Within the STO "library", there are lists of each item and wether you have them or not.

    (In JS, it would look something like this:

    var heavyEscort === false (or) 0;
    var dsScienceVessel === true (or) 1;

    etc.)

    Each "var" has a set of child values, such as: abilities, BO slots, customizations, etc.

    Here is what I think is happening.

    Instead of the ships being named in the library, they probably have designated numerical IDs.
    Say, for example, you have a ship who's ID is #001. You will not be able to customize ships #002, #003, #004, and #005.

    But what if the developers acidentially wrote ship #005 as #001? When you go to customize your ship, the tailor sees two #001s, and gets mixed values. It begins using models that don't fit with each other and are incompatable. This confuses the game, and reads that parts you dont have are invalid, explaining the invalid parts message you get.

    This also explains the message you get when trying to load a costume: "Unable to load costume because of type or old costume data".

    Your costume is seen as a different "type" but still appears when you click load due to the ID.

    There are several threads on this now. You may have put your finger on the nature of the problem, although my limited database experience cannot further that troubleshooting.

    DEVs can you take a look at this? People really do care about how their ships and characters look in game. This is affecting my Nova and Belephron science ships, and apparently others too.

    To put it another way:
    CRYPTIC: please look at this. Paying customers care.
  • zlmc
    zlmc Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    Add me to the list. New character, completely unable to customize any starships. Had decided to roll a new character after taking a long break from the game, since I'm on Lifetime... really hurts a lot of the enjoyment when I can't even change my bridge, let alone get the ship to look just how I want it. :(

    Hmm, on further testing, it gives the error when I change my bridge, but it does change it... it just doesn't let me change anything else. So... yeah.
  • stardustt2101
    stardustt2101 Member Posts: 10 Arc User
    edited June 2015
    I have this problem too... just bought a fleet ship and I can't change it to use different parts, can't change the color, paint job, finish, anything. Being a lifetime sub as well, I'd like to be able to do that.

    One fix I read was to dismiss and then reclaim your ship, but that was for zen store ships... not something you want to do with a fleet ship. Anyone have any advise? Cryptic? Can you please fix this?
  • crypticbatsoup
    crypticbatsoup Member Posts: 25 Cryptic Developer
    edited June 2015
    Hey everyone! This is the same bug posted here:

    http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/showthread.php?t=1473761

    A fix should be on its way, I believe it made it into the Thursday update.
    Today is a good day to fix bugs.