test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

What is the Best Bang for the Buck when spending real cash?

grisdongrisdon Member Posts: 4 Arc User
edited April 2015 in The Academy
I am new to STO and loving it. My first rule for playing an MMO is this: "If you are having fun DO NOT READ THE FORUMS." I am breaking that rule because I could not find this answer elsewhere.

I am at level 40+ and am happy with my ship, uniform, inventory, etc.. but I want to give STO some cash. I am enjoying the game and want to support it. I am also thrifty and want to get the most for my money.

What is the best value out there? Is it buying timecards on Amazon, waiting for zen to go on sale, starter packs, etc..

Cheers!
Post edited by grisdon on

Comments

• centaurianalphacentaurianalpha Member Posts: 1,150 Arc User
    edited April 2015
    Currently there is a sale on services (bank slots, etc. - check the services tab in the Z-store); there is a Zen sale maybe 3x per year, as well as specialty sales such as lockbox keys, ships, etc. The Zen sale is a good place to start, but many players aren't good at waiting, so if you're one of those, take a look at what's currently on offer, and decide if it's of value to you.

Ships are "on sale" at various times of year (usually in connection with new content), as well as some other things like uniforms & the like. Just depends on what you consider valuable.
    Expendables Fleet: Andrew - Bajoran Fed Engineer Ken'taura - Rom/Fed Scientist Gwyllim - Human Fed Delta Tac
    Savik - Vulcan Fed Temporal Sci
    Dahar Masters Fleet: Alphal'Fa - Alien KDF Engineer Qun'pau - Rom/KDF Engineer D'nesh - Orion KDF Scientist Ghen'khan - Liberated KDF Tac
    Welcome to StarBug Online - to boldly Bug where no bug has been before!
    STO player since November 2013
  • royalsovereignroyalsovereign Member Posts: 1,344 Arc User
    edited April 2015
    grisdon wrote: »