test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Greed Centric Exchanges Have become Greedier

otisnobleotisnoble Member Posts: 1,290 Arc User
edited March 2015 in Ten Forward
Have the Ferengi taken over the Exchanges? I've been playing for a few years and I don't remember the exchanges being so over the top greedy. I get supply and demand but come on most players will never see 100,000,000 EC especially beginning players and if they did they would probably not spend it all on one item. I don't understand the reasoning behind this kind of pricing.
Fleet Admiral Stephen
Post edited by otisnoble on

Comments

• Options
    iconiansiconians Member Posts: 6,987 Arc User
    edited March 2015
    That 100,000,000 EC pricetag is there because there are players who are willing to pay it. The Exchange is not a donation bin or a thrift store. It is a sacred temple of capitalism where the space-rich can congregate and enjoy the thrill and excitement of commerce.

These items you speak of may seem steeply priced to you, but to someone else, they may seem reasonable. It is also important to mention that just because something is listed for that price does not necessarily mean people are buying it at that price (although it might be a good indicator).

There will always be the "haves" and "have nots" in STO. People who are willing to work for their energy credits, and people who are not. If everybody was capable of getting 100,000,000 EC easily, then the items in question would not be worth much.

You say it is greed, but you have the potential to make 100,000,000 EC quite easily if you are willing to play your cards right. But STO's economy is cutthroat and very unforgiving. There will always be opportunities you can take advantage of, if you choose.

Any person in STO is capable of becoming super-rich with hard work. And those who are willing to work hard are able to purchase that type of merchandise.