test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc
Options

Fleets

vilifiedvvilifiedv Member Posts: 26 Arc User
edited July 2013 in The Academy
Hi, I am new to STO (Level 16) and completely addicted. I am curious about Fleets.

Is it a good idea for a new player, like myself, to join one or should I complete a good amount of the story line first?
Post edited by vilifiedv on

Comments

• Options
    thelastlegatethelastlegate Member Posts: 84 Arc User
    edited July 2013
    I was recruited right out of the tutorial.
    Being in a fleet has really helped.
  • Options
    edited July 2013
    In what regard? How did the Fleet help?
  • Options
    johnny111971johnny111971 Member Posts: 1,300 Arc User
    edited July 2013
    Hi there...

I'd recommend joining a fleet. If for nothing else than other people to ask questions as you level... build advice, etc.

More to the point, this game doesnt do a good job teaching team dynamics for missions... thats where a fleet can help.

Star Trek Online, Now with out the Trek....
  • Options
    admrenlarreckadmrenlarreck Member Posts: 2,041 Arc User
    edited July 2013
    Well fleets can help you in many ways. If you have questions about a mission The guys in the fleet will be able to answer. Need help with a mission you cant beat? Ask your fleet and several people will join you on it and run the mission and its over with fast and your on to the next one. While at the same time the guys who joined you are pointing out hidden bonuses and accolades you might not have found on your own.

At least this is how it happens in Nova Elite. Even when some one at Vice Admiral level has issues, (I have a graphics problem with some areas and all I get is black screen and the gui. I ask and one of the guys will join me and run the mission for me as I cant help at all.) The help is there.

These are just a few of the ways a fleet can help you out.