test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Questions About Online Chat.

razar2380razar2380 Member Posts: 1,187 Arc User
edited July 2013 in The Academy
I am very new to the whole chat thing online. I tried it before on the Xbox 360, but everything was pretty much simplified. You just plug in a headset and your good to go. However, I am unable to do that on the PC.

Someone is letting me use their desktop that is hooked up to a LCD TV. It is all the way on the other side of the room, and I cannot afford a mike or headset. I do have a Surface RT tablet.

I have looked online, but I cannot figure out if there is a program that will let me use the Surface Tablet for chat, while playing the desktop. I looked up the mumble site, but as far as I can tell, it will not work.

If anyone can help me out, I would really appreciate it. I am use to playing split-screen on the consoles for the most part, so I am use to talking to the person I am playing with. I am not fast at typing, so by the time I type out HELP, I have already been killed, and most likely the fight is over.

I would appreciate any help. Thanks,

Tim.
Leader of Elite Guardian Academy.Would you like to learn how to run a fleet? Would you like to know how to do ship builds (true budget as well as high end)?The join the Academy today!
Post edited by razar2380 on

Comments

• f9thaceshighf9thaceshigh Member Posts: 1 Arc User
    edited July 2013
    the game does have a built in voice chat feature, but it doesn't really work because most people don't use it. Unfortunately, like most MMO's, STO isn't really designed to be played as a console type game.
  • kyeto13kyeto13 Member Posts: 3 Arc User
    edited July 2013
    Depends on which chat you are talking about.