test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

New DOFF Website

lealundlealund Member Posts: 13 Arc User
Greetings fellow DOFFers. Been in game since launch, and after 3 or so years can still say I'm enjoying STO.

In "real life" I'm a web developer, which means I'm always looking for something to develop. With that in mind, I had an idea to build a web site based on STO's DOFF system. It started out just as an excuse for me to stay current with HTML, JQuery, SQL, etc., but I think I've brought it to a point where it might actually be useful/fun for players who enjoy the in-game DOFF system.

If you have a minute, take a look:

http://www.king-con.com/sto/console/

The basic idea behind the app:

I wanted it to act as a kind of extension to the in-game, DOFF-oriented chat channels. Like them, it allows you to report on whatever DOFF assignments are currently popping in game, with the added benefit that missions listed will persist for the length of the current DOFF cycle.

Feel free to use/test the app as you like.

If you find yourself in game at the turn of a DOFF cycle, take a quick look at the current map assignments in your sector. See anything worth noting? Take a minute to "File a Report" and let other users know which missions are popping.

A few notes:

For the record, this is nothing like a "finished product". Heh, you've heard of a "beta test", this is something like a "gamma test", at best. Still, the basic functions of the app are all in place, and I think it's ready to be beat up on by actual users.

I could spend a ton of time trying to explain exactly how it's supposed to work, but I think I'd rather just let people have at it and decide whether it's usable or not.

Let me know what you think, let me know if it makes any sense to you at all, and I'm always open to constructive ideas as to how it might be improved.

Thanks, and have fun.
Post edited by lealund on

Comments

• eklinaareklinaar Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013