test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Vo'Quv: Weapon choices?

aesicaaesica Member Posts: 736 Arc User
edited May 2013 in Klingon Discussion
All right, so I (foolishly) bought one of these because I wanted to see what carrier-style gameplay was like. Currently, I'm saving up for something more fun, but in the meantime, I'd like to make my Vo'Quv time as painless as possible. So here's the deal:

I'm an engineer. I make heavy use of gravity wells and other such things that demand my ship be facing my target rather than sideswiping it, so I'm looking for something with turrents in the back and a torpedo of some type + fore weapon in the front. (I really don't want a beam boat...) However, I'm at a loss as to which fore weapon I should go with.

Dual/dual heavy cannons: (45 degree) This is the logical choice for maximum dps, but I can't see it getting very much uptime, given the carrier's abysmal turn rate. Is this a correct assessment?

Dual beam banks: (90 degree) Seems like a good alternative to the 45s that would allow for more weapon uptime without having to play the struggle-to-turn minigame so much. This would go well with torpedos because they both have the same fire radius.

Dual cannons: (180 degree) Minimal worry about turning at this point, but something of a dps hit.

Turrets all the way: (360 degree) Turning becomes a non-issue unless I want to use a gravity well or torpedo. Pretty awful dps though, I'd imagine.

- - -

So, recommendations, thoughts, etc from other Vo'Quv users?

Thanks! :D
Rubberband Dance has been unlocked!
kNqxcCf.gif
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• cmdrskyfallercmdrskyfaller Member Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited July 2012
    I'm sorry you bought the Vo'Quv... since the devs messed up the pet AI its not a carrier its just a big easy target that thinks its a science ship.

In any case...