MMORPG Theory and Low-Cost ideas to turbo-charge STO.

A little bit about myself before I begin - I've been an avid gamer my entire life, from those "Free 100 Demo Games" CDs of the late 80s/early 90s to flight simulators to the dawn of MMORPGs. I've been playing MMORPGs since Everquest, have tried many, and have learned much.

What I come here today to provide, is an overarching description of what I have personally found to be the death of MMORPGs - and a few ideas which I believe are not only relatively low effort (because I respect the fact that there's only a limited amount of engineering resources in the real world) but would also provide an incredible value for the time invested.

Please keep in mind that I intend nothing negative to come out of this - I love Star Trek Online, and I feel that the features and systemic improvements Cryptic has made to it since I started playing over 3 years ago have been outstanding. If it weren't for that fact, I wouldn't be inspired to share these ideas - but the developer blogs that have been showing up on the launcher lately are logical and seem very like-minded so I figured I'd give it a shot.

Okay, so fundamentally MMORPGs suffer from three seemingly-unavoidable pitfalls which I can tell also exist in STO not only by playing the game myself, but also by reading the forums here and discussing with other players in the game. They are as follows:

1. Repetition/"Grindiness" (The most effective way to get what I want... is to do something I don't want, 100 times in a row.)
2. Obsolete Content (No matter how many things are added to the game, players only spend time in 5-10% of the content.)
3. Isolationism (A person's reputation is meaningless - there's little if any incentive to communicate with and/or respect other players.)