test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

STO - Best MMO of all time?

First I would like to say that I am a vet gamer. I've been playing PC games since the very first PC games. I grew up on games like Zork and Ultima. I have beta tested almost every single major MMO released to date and have actively played most of them since Meridan 59 and Ultima Online. I have been a technology consultant for over 22 years. So I have a good amount of experience with this stuff.

When STO was first released, I bought a lifetime membership. I was thinking "It's Star Trek...how could I go wrong???" Not only that, I bought the collectors edition, I purchased the magazines that had special codes in them and I even went to Del Taco to get the cup that had the shuttle pet code. Then I played it....for a month. It sucked. Nothing was really fleshed out. There wasn't any high level content. Most of the systems in place today just didn't exist. Like all the MMOs I play, I often revisit them to see what has been updated/changed. STO was no different. Things got better but I still only played a few weeks at a time.

Then it went F2P. I was beyond pissed. I was so angry that I had spent that money "for nothing". I didn't pick up the game for a while. After my anger subsided, I decided to check it out again and it has been getting better and better ever since.

Today, beside Warcraft which is unquestionably the most successful MMO of all time, STO is the game I play the most. I play it more than I played Ultima Online. I play it more than I played Everquest. I play it more than I play WoW. I know Cryptic does some stupid things here and there but everyone does. I wanted to write up why I think this game is so awesome in hopes of getting a few more of my friends to try it out.