test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Anyone testing with WINE under Linux?

tom61stotom61sto Member Posts: 3,636 Arc User
Anyone testing with WINE under Linux? I tried a couple of times today, but both times crashed during the loading bar screen, even though this box handles the Holodeck version of the game well. I'm using an older version of WINE, so I'm wondering if a newer version can handle the updated client.

Comments

• fluh#9635 fluh Member Posts: 1 New User
    Hi, it seems i'm new to the game and cant open new threads here :(.
    I play the game in linux, I tried different wine versions, currently I'm using 1.92 version of wine.

Well the only thing that bothers me are the crashes during the loadings. It happens every 2 to 3 loading screens it depends...if i'm somewhere where are lots of people ... The error in wine i'm getting is direct3d out of memory error.
    I tried setting the video memory in wine ... well i red it somewhere... to 2048, 1024 or more ... it didn't help.

Is there a solution for this.

Thanks
  • tom61stotom61sto Member Posts: 3,636 Arc User
    Not heard of any issue like that, no troubles on 1.7.34 for me. Make sure you have both the game and WINE set to use the amount of RAM on your video card, if you have it set to 2048 and you only have a 1 GB card it's likely going to run it out. Also, try setting the game to use DX9, as that fixes a lot of issues, both WINE and native Windows.

Also, a recommendation, instead of being so task focused, find a thread to reply to with something trivial to get your post count up. Lot's of threads dealing with lore of the game that you could chime in on, plenty of threads dealing with the future of the game (current big thing the possibility of the Alternate Reality being added in) that I'm betting you would have a opinion on.
  • igorche81igorche81 Member Posts: 26 Arc User