Death Throes

Options
2»

Comments

• Thelas_Carr - Sanctuary
    Thelas_Carr - Sanctuary Posts: 448 Arc User
    edited February 2011
    Options
    Nothing new... I've seen this since I started playing here and really noticed it wasn't just lag after BH was introduced (I was in the level range to start BH51 once a day; triple BH got introduced later). I noticed that ranged physical attackers always get a last shot in on death regarldess of the time from last shot before death.

Let's say an archer is on a cycle where he hits you once every 2 seconds and that you kill him just after he's made a shot. Realistically, the "last" shot shouldn't occur since it takes 2 seconds to "reload," but it's like cancelling the Runewolf boss in FCC... instead of having 4-5 seconds before his wicked AoE, cancelling with Alacrity of the Beast makes the AoE instant. Well killing a ranged archer gives them an instant "reload and shoot."

I'll agree with most others that this is pretty annoying.
  • sangodoc
    sangodoc Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited February 2011
    Options
    I'm pretty sure it's not lag. My spells will hit monsters that my pets have already killed. I've had pets take damage from a monster after they leveled from killing it.
    Technically, both of those can be explained by lag:

Example #1-
    1) Pet lands killing blow, message sent to server
    2) Killing blow message received at server, death message sent to client
    3) Your attack spell goes off, message sent to server
    4) Client receives death message, mob dies
    5) Server gets attack spell message, replies to client
    6) Client now shows damage on dead mob

The lag between events, 1, 2, and 4, means that other messages can slip in-between, and weird results appear. Other slight variations between the order of those steps I gave can produce the same results.

Example #2-
    1) Pet lands killing blow, message sent to server
    2) Server has mob attack pet, message sent to client