Frighten.Am i missing something here?!

genmix
genmix Posts: 0 Arc User
edited September 2010 in Barbarian
Hello everyone,

Im a newbie barb and i have a little problem with the Frighten skill.My experience in dungeons is very limited but what i have noticed is that with a very very few exceptions every time i use frighten in a dungeon all i get is resist resist resist.....it drives me crazy..

So can some of the most experienced barbs out there plz explain to me how that skill behaves?

ps: im lvl 58 and i have it at lvl 1 so i thought that maybe i should lvl it up a bit. but then i remember it being resisted right of the bat when i first trained it :/

ty for ur time.
Post edited by genmix on

Comments

• HippiePanda - Sanctuary
    HippiePanda - Sanctuary Posts: 91 Arc User
    edited September 2010
    The reason of the resist are the monsters in instances when they are champions.
    You can't reduce the speed of champions or bosses. That explains the resist.
    But as you know does frighten has another debuff: Reducing their physical attack.
    When you check the debuff icons at the mobs you will notice that frighten does work though.
    IMO the only reason to use frighten is the attack debuff and that works always.

You will need frighten in FCC runs, so better take it.
  • XylolyX - Heavens Tear
    XylolyX - Heavens Tear Posts: 1,097 Arc User
    edited September 2010
    Frighten is a good generalized aggro skill for AOE grinding, as well as a good chi generator. Damage reduction is the main reason for using it, but speed debuff is good too, I suppose.

Level it when you can, IMO, but don't make it a priority over important skills like Flesh Ream, Devour or any of your buffs/passives.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Lvl10XBarb
    Lvl10XArcher
    lvl10XAssassin
  • Xarathox - Dreamweaver
    Xarathox - Dreamweaver Posts: 1,657 Arc User
    edited September 2010
    You will need frighten in FCC runs, so better take it.

lol. Since when?