How do i install perfect world on ubuntu??

Options
Freohr - Harshlands
Freohr - Harshlands Posts: 3 Arc User
edited June 2010 in Support Desk
How do i install perfect world on ubuntu??
i have ubuntu 10.4 and the latest version of wine available in the add/remove programs list.
Can u make it as simple as possible cause im not very good with computers XD
thanx
Post edited by Freohr - Harshlands on

Comments

• ChocoMonster - Dreamweaver
    ChocoMonster - Dreamweaver Posts: 30 Arc User
    edited May 2010
    Options
    IF YOU HAVE ATI GRAPHICS CARD, DO NOT FOLLOW THIS GUIDE, THERE IS A BUG IN THE CURRENT UBUNTU 10.04 FGLRX DRIVERS THAT WILL DISALLOW PWI TO RUN SMOOTHLY.

No, we can't make it as simple as possible. For one, get rid of that wine version. You need to install WINE from the PPA using the software sources in Administration.

Add ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa to software sources.

In terminal, run

sudo apt-get update

enter your password when it asks (YOU CANNOT BACKSPACE IF YOU ENTER IT WRONG, THERE WILL BE NO ASTERISKS TO TELL YOU HOW MANY CHARACTERS YOU ENTERED. This is a security feature of the terminal, sorry, they will never, ever, change it.)

After it updates, and after you have added the ppa (you have to add the ppa before the update, sorry, you can't do it after) you need to run...

sudo apt-get install wine1.2

after it finishes, run Wine's regedit function and follow these steps:

Add "Direct3D" key to HKEY_CURRENT_USR -> Software -> Wine
    Add the following String Values to the Direct3D key:

DirectDrawRenderer "opengl"
    Nonpower2Mode "repack"
    OffscreenRenderingMode "fbo"
    PixelShaderMode "enabled"
    RenderTargetLockMode "auto"

after that, run

wget http://www.kegel.com/wine/winetricks

then run

sh winetricks

and on the dialog that comes up, select allfonts, d3dx9 (or whatever it's called.) Press OK after that. Wait for it to finish.