LA mage vs venos

Options
/Slash - Lost City
/Slash - Lost City Posts: 24 Arc User
edited February 2010 in Wizard
Just curious if anyone has any tips. I've had plenty of experience beating every other class quite easily since hitting Lv80. Archers are 1 or 2 hit kills who I can tank indefinitely, Barbs eat 8500 damage or more per Sutra combo, other mages (since they're usually robe) eat a sparked Blade Tempest.

As far as skills I do have Undine, don't have the Sleep yet but I'm getting it today, my gear is decent (and I have a backup set of Arcane armor that I can switch into on the fly), and I don't want a discussion about LA vs AA nor do I want complaints about "well venos are just overpowered."

Every veno I've fought has either been 9x+ who caught me off guard -- and I was nix-stunned and dead before I knew it, with only about 2000 damage even showing up in my log despite the fact that I have over 3500 hp unbuffed... or it's been 6x (or lower) which are guaranteed 1-hit kills for me. Haven't had a lot of experience fighting venos on even ground and I'd like some tips on strategy.

My genie is kind of up in the air at the moment. I'm getting a new one soon with a few more Luck points, and I do have both Badge of Courage and Cauterize, but I've never actually used (or had time to use) Cauterize before getting killed by high level nixes, even with 7300 pdef fully buffed. Mostly my problem is lack of experience fighting venos who aren't 9x-10x, but yeah.. tips? Bearing in mind that I am Lv8x with Undine and soon to have Sleep skill as well.