What is better for a Wizard...?

dasani48
dasani48 Posts: 2 Arc User
edited August 2009 in Wizard
I'm new to the game so I'm not very familiar with the terms and stuff, but I was wondering what is better for a Wizard? Pure, Hybrid, or Light Armor? And what do these actually mean?

I appreciate all help since I'm totally new, and please don't get frustrated with me! ^^;;
Post edited by dasani48 on

Comments

• /haiku/ - Lost City
    /haiku/ - Lost City Posts: 286 Arc User
    edited October 2008
    Pure is exactly as it sounds: pure magic. They add enough str to equip their weapons and robes, and the rest goes straight to mag. "Glass cannon" if you will. Arcane robes have the highest magic defense, but the lowest physical defense. They do the most damage with their spells and crits.

Hybrids are the same, except they add vit. Some add one per level, some every other level, some add two per level, etc. Let it be known though that for every two levels of points (10 points), 6 must go into mag and usually 1 must go into str to keep up with weapons & armor for a robe user. I consider this build the least useful of the three because your damage isn't much more than a light, while your survival isn't much better than a pure. Some people like it though. 1 vit is equal to 10 HP.

Light means they use light armor instead of arcane robes. Light armor requires str/dex equal to your level+4. Light users do not have enough points left to add any to vit if they are adding enough str/dex/mag to equip their best weapon and armor. Light has a more balanced amount of pdef:mdef. Their crit% is a few higher than a pure or hybrid, but their overall damage is lower.

Which build you select is entirely up to how you like to play. Try reading the "higher lvl opinion" thread if you don't know what appeals to you the most. Good luck with your wizard.
    /Haiku/ -- Cognitive atrophy at its finest.
    No longer the mistress of being ohko PK'd.
  • youngsly
    youngsly Posts: 0 Arc User