What to say to Auntie? Family issue

Hey guys,

First, sorry for ranting. Secondly, sorry for the grammar problem if any. I really want your advice. I know the post is kind of long, but you don’t have to read the whole post to get the point. Thank you, thank you.

So my aunt and I always have a decent but not super close relationship. I am currently a undergraduate student and her daughter, Elisa, is going to be a high school senior next fall. Since 3 years ago, there was an emerging tension that grew between my family and her.

My aunt is a very competitive person. Business type. She wants her daughter to be top student, etc. I’m Chinese, if that matters. My aunt would say stuffs to me as if she is trying to show me that Elisa is “better” than the rest of us cousins.

For example, she wants Elisa to look prettier than my older female cousin. She wants Elisa to be smarter and taller than me. She used to demand Elisa to compare heights with me to see if Elisa has grown taller. She stopped doing it now because she knows that won’t be coming true any time soon (lol).

Since two year back, she keeps asking me about college scholarships on a on-and-off basis. This is understandable because my aunt want Elisa to be prepared for all the debts that will come with attending a university. However, the frequency of her asking me the EXACT SAME QUESTIONS increased dramatically. Every time I visit her home during college break, she asks me the same questions over and over again. What, you expect me to tell you the secret for a full ride? You think I have a full ride? The prodding is getting extremely annoying. Once, I called her to say Happy New Years. After a few couple of exchanges, she went straight talking about scholarships. Like, I am here to greet you for New Years, can we leave the topic about scholarships at a more appropriate time?