Black Screen after a few minutes

tolots
tolots Posts: 103 Arc User
After the patch on 9.12.15 my pwi produces a black screen after a few minutes of playtime. Changing the graphics settings dosnt help. i can't alt+tab out of the screen but have to do a hard reboot of my pc. Anyone else got the same problem after recent patch ?

I use a GforceGTX970 on Windows10 and my system is above the requirements to play pwi. I play it for a while and never had problems so far.
I updated my drives to newest version and will now reinstall pwi. If that dosnt help im out of ideas :(

Comments

• tolots
    edited December 2015
    sry double post
  • nrglg
    nrglg Posts: 150 Arc User
    edited December 2015
    I repair computers for a living. Black screens are most typically produced by overheated CPUs (like 90% of the time). PSUs that don't have enough energy to keep up can also cause this. GPUs can cause this when they are failing. GPUs can also cause this when they're overheating as well, although most of the time those will just cause a system to shut down because of safety settings. Bad RAM can cause this as well.

I recommend checking the temperature of your components. You may have improper air flow or a malfunctioning fan on your CPU heatsink. If that's not it, try taking out one memory module and running the game. If it shuts down, then put it back in and take out a different one. Do that until all have been taken out. Now, if taking out one of them causes the game to run fine, it's a bad memory module. With the others, unless you have spare parts, you may want to take it to a computer repair place. On the other hand, if you have spare parts, (also assuming the PSU is greater than or equal to your current), you can keep swapping out pieces to see if the same problem occurs.