Newbie signing in :)

aeternusdoleo
aeternusdoleo Posts: 180 Arc User
edited July 2013 in General Discussion
Well, figure it's about time to shout out - without using a horn token, mind you. That gets spammy enough.

I started playing on Morai (euro) not too long ago after a tip from a friend. The flight aspect of the game caught our interest. I've since then played quite a bit - learning the game as I go. It was a bit overwhelming at first, but I guess I caught on now. So far, my first impressions:
The good:
- The game guides you well in the early stages.
- Diverse classes make for interesting combination play. Effective teams may require some planning in advance on how to complement eachother.
- The mining-and-crafting system is nice. I enjoy a good bit of resourcing... probably harvested well in excess of a few thousand units already, mostly tier 1 and 2 stuff.
- Lots of flashy stuff.

The bad:
- Archosaur is cluttered. Really cluttered. I've got a high end computer system, but even that one can't keep up without performance mode down there. I don't like going into the main city for that reason. Isn't there any way to limit the amount of shops in a certain area? Probably too late for that now...
- Shops in the form of... Cats? Zippos? Seriously...? Not what I expect in an quasi asian medieval fantasy setting. That motorcycle mount was a bit of a turnoff as well. Shops in the form of sword&shield displays, armor stands, barrels of berries and herbs... kinda to signify the nature of the store, would have been both more immersive, and easier on potential shoppers.
- The game still feels a bit pay-to-win-ish to me, but I suppose something has to keep the server running. The ability to buy the boutique gold for lots of ingame gold offsets this a bit for me. Just means a longer grind to get to the gear that's in the boutique. I don't mind grinding 10M for that inventory upgrade... will get there. Eventually.

The ugly: