test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

An Open Letter to Cryptic / PWE Regarding Customer Service

tobiasmorgantobiasmorgan Member, Neverwinter Beta Users Posts: 0 Arc User
edited July 2013 in General Discussion (PC)
(TL;DR - Check the two bold things near the bottom. Thanks.)

Greetings, Cryptic and PWE developers, community managers, and designers. My name is Avery W. Krouse and when I'm not throwing magic missiles at goblins, I work as a customer service manager in the Chattanooga, TN, US area.

I have been playing Neverwinter for a couple of months now and have been a relatively active reader / inactive poster in the forums since the start. I have noticed a disturbing trend that I would like for your team to consider correcting going forward. This is simply put: a lack of customer service.

Please understand, I know that you are working diligently around the clock to provide us with a quality gaming experience despite the absence of subscription fees to guarantee a revenue stream. I know that your team members have full to-do lists between creating new features and repairing existing, problematic features. I know that there is not a day that passes that you get to sit back and say "Alright folks, we're done here, nothing left to work on."

I also know that your forums are inundated with people complaining about this free game. On the surface, those complaints seem like "shouting at the wind to blow the earth into the sea, or make the sea flood the earth," people getting very angry about a complimentary product yelling at people who have no obligation to respond. I believe, however, that the situation is different that it seems at first glance.