test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Can Clerics DPS in this game?

silvawindsilvawind Member Posts: 4 Arc User
edited May 2013 in PvE Discussion
Can Clerics DPS in this game?
I am playing this game with my wife. Whilst I have lots of MMO experience and am quite a competent player, she lacks a bit of confidence in group play, and always has, although she is making a real effort this time around to 'put herself out there'.

Look, she isn't the best player to have ever lived and has a lot to learn, especially in this game which has a high skill cap.

She has chosen a Cleric, as she always chooses the Cleric archetype in our previous MMOs, although back then she chose them because they typically make the safest/sturdiest solo classes with decent armour and self-heals.

This time around though she has been participating in dungeons/skirmishes and PvP and I feel she would be a lot more relaxed about the whole thing if she could DPS, as it's typically easier, and she's less in the limelight, held less responsible and all that.

So, my question to you Clerics is: Is Cleric a viable DPS in groups? I've heard different things, nothing substantial though.

Tbh, with potions, our experiences so far suggest healing isn't as important in this game as others, but does that change at end-game instances?

Will she be EXPECTED and NEEDED to heal? Or can I spec her into a decent DPS that will be accepted in groups? Or should I maybe get her to re-roll a Wiz?

Any advice would be hugely appreciated by both of us.

Thanks x
Post edited by silvawind on

Comments

• tseitsei Member, Neverwinter Beta Users Posts: 2
    edited May 2013