test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

I Yell Because I Care

Okay, so I confess that most of my posts to the forums...okay...ALL of my posts to the forums have been bitchfests about the game. Here is the thing...

I came to Neverwinter because I was looking for an alternative for ESO while waiting for the new expansion to drop. I've been playing ESO for a few years now and I've done most of the core content (on multiple toons). Before that, I played SWtOR. Before that Guild Wars. Before that WOW. I'm also a modded, having made tons of mods for Fallout and the Elder Scrolls games.

But my first RPG love was traditional D&D, and the Forgotten Realms is my favorite setting to run and play games in. I have been GMing games for almost 20 years. I am also a game publisher (tabletop OGL RPGs). SO I understand the basics of game design.

When I first started to play Neverwinter, I fell in love with the game. I liked the story. The nods to the lore. The NPC interactions (I laughed out loud when Lord Neverember worried that I would think he was trying to seduce me, and I squeed when I first stumbled across Jarlaxle.) The questlines in the different locations were fun and felt like they had a purpose.

I WANT to love this game.

But, particularly with the new Mod, it is as if the developers don't recognize how amazing this game SHOULD be and are instead pulling an EA and just trying to milk as much money as possible out of players before they ragequit.

The thing is, I could forgive the screw ups with Mod 16 if the game didn't feel like everything was behind a paywall. But everything is behind a paywall.