test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Merging Paths with Paragon feats And Revamping Powers

slicey970xslicey970x Member, NW M9 Playtest Posts: 40 Arc User

@rgutscheradev @mimicking#6533 @noworries#8859 @asterdahl @nitocris83 @sgrantdev#8718

So since NW Team has been revamping the refining system, the queue system and many other things, i do belive that doing what the title suggests it should be the next step to improve the game.

I’ve been playing Neverwinter for 4 years now, and i can say i am kinda tired of each class not having a different build, and powers being a battle royale of what is better than the other, as Robert mentioned in the devstream few weeks ago, he belives the idea of removing paragon feats, since for most of the classes it’s useless. So i made this thread just to bring a suggestion on how i think it should be done, worked and improved from the present system with a bit of work to it.

Merging Paragon Path and Paragon Feat and Revamping Powers.
So i will use as an example the OathBound Paladin class that right now it’s the closest to this desired revamp:
So what do we know about the class is that it has
2 Paths: oath of devotion and oath of protection
3 Paragon feats: Justice, Bulwark, Light
1 Class Mechanic That is doing something different depending on the Path you choose.

The desired revamp would be like this
1. Merging Paths and Paragon feats, therefor you will not be able to pick other feats from another paragon feat if you choose your selected path.
Oath of Devotion with the Paragon Feat Light
Oath of Protection with the Paragon Feat Bulwark
Oath of Pending... with the Paragon feat Justice
2. Powers(Encounters/Atwills/Class features/Dailies) should be split in tiers:
The first tier of Powers(tier1) that should be COMMON among all the Paths with extra tooltips for each Path for their desired Role
The second tier of Powers(tier2) that each Path will have differently from eachother.