test content
What is the Arc Client?
Install Arc

Am I gated if I don't fish?

shmoodleshmoodle Member Posts: 32 Arc User
I hated fishing in EQ1 and I've continued to skip that part of the game in any MMO I've played since. Is it a gate, must one fish to continue progressing?

I've fished in Lonelywood but now that I'm in Sea of Moving Ice and tried fishing I just can't see me doing those quests.

Comments

• kangkeokkangkeok Member Posts: 1,123 Arc User
    edited November 2016
    U can buy treasure map. They gives u loads of fish including purple fish most the time. The rate of getting is high that many people cross their finger not to get fish.
  • shmoodleshmoodle Member Posts: 32 Arc User
    What is the name of them? Is that the Map in a Bottle I see in the auction house?

I wish I would have tried fishing before I bought zen over the weekend, I might have ended up in a different game. I only started playing in August and I love the game, but this fishing stuff might be the breaking point.
    Yup its called map in a bottle. But i suggest u at least try the 200 fishing daily quest. Its the cheapest route and It only takes like 15min just like any quest. If u are lucky, u get to earn a bottle during it.
    Thanks. I tried four times and I caught nothing, if I can progress without fishing I will continue to play. I play games for the dungeons and heroic encounters. As long as I can do the faction quests I am absolutely fine skipping fishing. If I can't, well, you will be top of my list when I start giving stuff away before I go. Thanks again.
  • nic1985nic1985 Member, NW M9 Playtest Posts: 415 Arc User
    There is an occasional daily quest you have to fish in weight "0/200", this would hinder your progression if you don't complete it. Fish from bottles don't add to this quest, at least not for me.