[NOTICE] Network Maintenance 5/4/2013

1678911

Comments

  • MehrBrust - Dyos
    MehrBrust - Dyos Posts: 15 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Did i miss something ?
    Why does everyone keep claiming that same exact IP is the one for their server?


    What same IP adress ?

    I make a netstat -n to see where my Client is connected too.

    Result is exactly same as i ping too fweu3.de.perfectworld.eu = DYOS

    TCP 192.168.0.2:51130 69.174.40.75:29005

    fweu1.en.perfectworld.eu = 69.174.40.71 for ILLYFUE

    I do not see "same" Ip address. LOCATION are same as u told / Show us.
  • shadrim
    shadrim Posts: 1,040 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Actually i am not at all interested where the affected servers are located, if any fictitional engineer has to do fictitional overtime and has fictitional bad feelings about this.
    I would rather see some real work done on them and some real info passed around here.

    And of course i would be very delighted if the fails behind the current fail streak, those that caused or made worse all these issues in the last time would finally be adressed.

    Still DCing, still no end in sight.
    Who is this "general failure" and why is he reading my disc ?[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • VagueAngel - Storm Legion
    VagueAngel - Storm Legion Posts: 2,798 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    *sigh*

    Illyfue IP - 69.174.40.71

    Dyos IP - 69.174.40.75

    Nyos IP - 69.174.40.77

    Shylia IP - 69.174.40.73

    Storm IP - 74.201.183.124

    Eyrda IP - 74.201.183.121

    Lionheart IP - 64.74.134.128

    Just because the IP shows location in California, doesn't mean that's where the server is.
    crabclaw wrote: »
    Illyfue is physically located in the Netherlands. If you have persistent connection issues, try making a thread in the tech support forum.

    The reason why the IP is coming up as California is because that's where the host of the servers (PWE) is located. Think of it like when you use a proxy to hide your IP. If gives an anonymous IP. Where is that IP located? Could be anywhere in the world. But where are you? Exactly where you are at. Yet your IP could show you're in Timbuktu.
    80~ErebusNox - Dark/Edge Assassin
    74~AzrielZiya - Aegis Warrior

    sephiroth_forum_signature_by_xxtatteredsoulxx-d4jx3wc.jpg
    People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but actually, from a non-linear, non-subjective viewpoint, it's more like a big ball of wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey...stuff. - 10th Doctor
    Can't access the support page? Send an email: [email protected]
  • bibidupul
    bibidupul Posts: 22 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    The reason why the IP is coming up as California is because that's where the host of the servers (PWE) is located. Think of it like when you use a proxy to hide your IP. If gives an anonymous IP. Where is that IP located? Could be anywhere in the world. But where are you? Exactly where you are at. Yet your IP could show you're in Timbuktu.

    you want to tell us sir that from california there is a vlan/IPsec/Iptunnel back to Europe ?

    if is the case no wonder we get lag/dc problems with packets traveling around the world to get back in Europe :p
  • Brim_McRoy - Eyrda
    Brim_McRoy - Eyrda Posts: 3,047 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    The reason why the IP is coming up as California is because that's where the host of the servers (PWE) is located. Think of it like when you use a proxy to hide your IP. If gives an anonymous IP. Where is that IP located? Could be anywhere in the world. But where are you? Exactly where you are at. Yet your IP could show you're in Timbuktu.

    My IP is currently somewhere in Cali... so if i switch it to idk... the south eastern edge of the Sahri desert i could be there right :D
    FWs only Acolyte of Khorne --> warhammer40k.wikia.com/wiki/Khorne
    Loki and Crabclaw: The Lost Gods of FW

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • porndmg
    porndmg Posts: 298 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    ummm.....how to say this?

    I am actually surprised o.O been online for more than 19 hours, without DC.

    and before that been disconecting every 20 minutes.

    However, when other people crash, i lagg, for about a minute, then it goes back to normal. By lagg, i mean ,,it looks like i will dc".

    All i did was install some windows setting that made windows reconect to a different conection if it receives too many falses from the curent one (when you disconect, somehow windows switches to another active conection).
    It is something that idk exactly how it works, but i installed it after someone pointed out on another thread. It is in fact a Microsoft update, and is made by them.

    Simply changes some parameters and tryes to reconect multiple times to various conection points.

    good day to you :)
    [SIGPIC]http://tinypic.com/r/2wq7p8l/6[/SIGPIC]
    New Beelzebut coming soon to a dark corner near you.....

    DADADADADA CIRCUS DADADADADADA AFRO circus afro circus afro POLKADOT POLKADOT POLKADOT AFRO
  • VagueAngel - Storm Legion
    VagueAngel - Storm Legion Posts: 2,798 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    bibidupul wrote: »
    you want to tell us sir that from california there is a vlan/IPsec/Iptunnel back to Europe ?

    if is the case no wonder we get lag/dc problems with packets traveling around the world to get back in Europe :p

    No. As Firebat stated. The server is in a different location, but the IP that is connected to it is registered in California. I'm saying the idea works similar to a proxy. The IP's registration is in California, but the server you're connecting to is in a different location, as crabclaw clearly stated in my quote, just as your IP could be registered and say you're in London, but your computer and physical self is in Florida, United States.
    80~ErebusNox - Dark/Edge Assassin
    74~AzrielZiya - Aegis Warrior

    sephiroth_forum_signature_by_xxtatteredsoulxx-d4jx3wc.jpg
    People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but actually, from a non-linear, non-subjective viewpoint, it's more like a big ball of wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey...stuff. - 10th Doctor
    Can't access the support page? Send an email: [email protected]
  • impriest1
    impriest1 Posts: 8 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Told you. Server location is in server.lua in updates folder.

    Idiot.

    don't relay on simply that text file cotaining the host. because that can direct you to the amsterdam server but there you can be redirected to another server anywhere in the world, also it can keep you in a redirect loophole so you can be moved in circles.
  • Firebat - Eyrda
    Firebat - Eyrda Posts: 4,190 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    No. As Firebat stated. The server is in a different location, but the IP that is connected to it is registered in California. I'm saying the idea works similar to a proxy. The IP's registration is in California, but the server you're connecting to is in a different location, as crabclaw clearly stated in my quote, just as your IP could be registered and say you're in London, but your computer and physical self is in Florida, United States.

    With a proxy, all the data transfers through it, defeating the purpose of a server location.

    Its more like a website and URL.

    Website is hosted on a server. Only way to access it is via IP address.

    You buy a URL to make it easier to locate, and link it to web server.

    Instead of typing in IP to connect, you type in my website.com, which is easier to remember.

    But, when you register the URL, they ask for an address, usually your home/company address. That doesn't mean your web server is located there, just that you told them your company is. URL is just a pointer.... no data actually passes through it.
    [Sigpic][/Sigpic]
    GreyjoyKraken -Firebat has been revealed as an evil bridge troll. Seek him out and solve his riddles three to get the mythical 2013 holiday box.
  • Cyntheria - Storm Legion
    Cyntheria - Storm Legion Posts: 16 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Have also been crashing and DCing like mad. This is crazy
    They give so much attention to PWI, but when it comes to other games which paying players play, they don't give a ****!
    [SIGPIC]http://i43.tinypic.com/oh926r.png[/SIGPIC]
    ~Scorchin' The Blood In My- My Vampire Heart~
  • VagueAngel - Storm Legion
    VagueAngel - Storm Legion Posts: 2,798 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    With a proxy, all the data transfers through it, defeating the purpose of a server location.

    Its more like a website and URL.

    Website is hosted on a server. Only way to access it is via IP address.

    You buy a URL to make it easier to locate, and link it to web server.

    Instead of typing in IP to connect, you type in my website.com, which is easier to remember.

    But, when you register the URL, they ask for an address, usually your home/company address. That doesn't mean your web server is located there, just that you told them your company is. URL is just a pointer.... no data actually passes through it.

    Yeah it's like that pretty much. I only stated proxy because that's the first thing that came to mind when dealing with IPs and different locations.
    80~ErebusNox - Dark/Edge Assassin
    74~AzrielZiya - Aegis Warrior

    sephiroth_forum_signature_by_xxtatteredsoulxx-d4jx3wc.jpg
    People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but actually, from a non-linear, non-subjective viewpoint, it's more like a big ball of wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey...stuff. - 10th Doctor
    Can't access the support page? Send an email: [email protected]
  • Summanus - Illyfue
    Summanus - Illyfue Posts: 419 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Why you stupid **** nerds derail this thread with ur nerdpeens?

    Who cares where servers is and IP address it is or not. Are you the engineers beind paid to fix this DC fest?

    If not, sht up and stop spamming this thread with ur garbage.
    Summanus | 80 Diamond Geezer Protector - retired

    Play the game, don't let the game play you.
  • Firebat - Eyrda
    Firebat - Eyrda Posts: 4,190 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Why you stupid **** nerds derail this thread with ur nerdpeens?

    Coming from someone raging over a video game
    [Sigpic][/Sigpic]
    GreyjoyKraken -Firebat has been revealed as an evil bridge troll. Seek him out and solve his riddles three to get the mythical 2013 holiday box.
  • Summanus - Illyfue
    Summanus - Illyfue Posts: 419 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Coming from someone raging over a video game

    Riight... cool point, lets derail this thread some more...

    you wanna start a flaming war?
    Summanus | 80 Diamond Geezer Protector - retired

    Play the game, don't let the game play you.
  • Nyxa - Storm Legion
    Nyxa - Storm Legion Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Riight... cool point, lets derail this thread some more...

    you wanna start a flaming war?

    how about drop it......
    [SIGPIC]http://img163.imageshack.us/i/deur0g.png/[/SIGPIC]
    Special thanks to chaosheart27 for the awesome sig
    I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity. Edgar Allan Poe
  • olemanel
    olemanel Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    how about drop it......

    If it was a topic saying 'omg we're so sorry codepackuselessshet' anything but 'TY pwe you're so nice' would be removed or advertised as off-topic. Oh well..
  • EvilSheep - Illyfue
    EvilSheep - Illyfue Posts: 780 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    how about drop it......

    how about get us a damn update... and not derail the topic of this thread so that the admins dont get the stupid idea that we calmed down and got used to the DC/s so the engineers can take their sweet time "fixing" things.

    Let's hear from crab shall we? oh, wait that's re.tarded to be extecting an update from an admin... they have been MIA for the past day.

    We are about to enter the 4th day of this BULL S H I T that has been going on and nothing has been fixed or no information has been given as to how much longer this will take.

    All you do is edit or remove people's threads when it's got too much WELL DESERVED hate in it.

    Just spare me...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    ~ ★ EvilSheep® - Dark Vampire - Lv80 since March 2012 ★ ~
    Lv80 Divine Priest - Lv80 Wind Bard - Lv80 Frost Mage
    Breath of Life - Florence + The Machine
    Because my Vamp comes with her own Theme Song.
    I'm not amoosed by the default forum font.
  • Nyxa - Storm Legion
    Nyxa - Storm Legion Posts: 0 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    how about get us a damn update... and not derail the topic of this thread so that the admins dont get the stupid idea that we calmed down and got used to the DC/s so the engineers can take their sweet time "fixing" things.

    Let's hear from crab shall we? oh, wait that's re.tarded to be extecting an update from an admin... they have been MIA for the past day.

    We are about to enter the 4th day of this BULL S H I T that has been going on and nothing has been fixed or no information has been given as to how much longer this will take.

    All you do is edit or remove people's threads when it's got too much WELL DESERVED hate in it.

    Just spare me...

    I've been asking for updates since yesterday, but that's right you assume I'm doing nothing.

    They don't know how long it will take becuase it's not in the offices...they are going back and forth with the EU offices that are dealing with the servers.

    When every other word is a profanity and it's so clear that Stevie Wonder can see that you are getting around the chat filter I have every right to edit it. YOu don't like it, don't post, or post WITHOUT the use of profanity....I've seen quite a few posts where players can post how upset they are without a single profanity being used.

    You want answers, but don't want to wait for the staff, why not contact the company yourself and get a direct answer fro them.

    http://www.mzima.net/ I'll even help, there is the link
    [SIGPIC]http://img163.imageshack.us/i/deur0g.png/[/SIGPIC]
    Special thanks to chaosheart27 for the awesome sig
    I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity. Edgar Allan Poe
  • EvilSheep - Illyfue
    EvilSheep - Illyfue Posts: 780 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    You know, I know you're saying something but really at this point it's all just going in one ear and right out the other... Just like when admins say they're "looking into the matter and apologise for the inconvenience".

    4 days, is all I have to say, and here is something with no profanity. They fail because they chose to work with people that fail. But it's worth it if the cost is low and the profit is high, they'll even lick some monkey balls if it'll make them rich, eh? Quantity over quality after all.

    "They're going back and forth with the EU offices that are dealing with the servers..." Well guess what, 4 days and no fix tells me, THEY FAIL TOO. Oh and also, whoever is the source of this technical problem, now I think it's safe to assume that it is their job to know their job and know how to fix when **** goes wrong and yet no fix in over 3 days, guess what... THEY. FAIL. TOO. And this it is all just a vicious circle, see where I am trying to go with this? PWE picked it, THEY. FAIL. TOO. Have I said "fail" enough?... zzzzz
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    ~ ★ EvilSheep® - Dark Vampire - Lv80 since March 2012 ★ ~
    Lv80 Divine Priest - Lv80 Wind Bard - Lv80 Frost Mage
    Breath of Life - Florence + The Machine
    Because my Vamp comes with her own Theme Song.
    I'm not amoosed by the default forum font.
  • Caranthiel - Illyfue
    Caranthiel - Illyfue Posts: 32 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    5 hours since log in and not a single DC from me, at least ;)
  • shadrim
    shadrim Posts: 1,040 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    5 hours since log in and not a single DC from me, at least ;)

    Which means server population has dropped low enough so the server can cope with the "ISP related" issue.
    I am observing increase in DC to the usual times, when bigger amounts of players try out if anyone did anything to fix the mess.
    DC rate drops again when enough players read or experience that nothing at all has been done to solve the issue and decide to log out again.

    As it seems now, we just have to wait until enough players have had enough of this farce and thus the serverload drops permanently beyond critical level.

    The remaining ones will be able to play with almost no DC.
    So yeah, lets have patience. I believe the amount of players dropping below DC level will be reached a lot faster than any real action by PWE takes place.
    Who is this "general failure" and why is he reading my disc ?[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  • porndmg
    porndmg Posts: 298 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    with all these people raging on the forums, and staying off the game, i've had a chance to actually do something today o.O

    21 hours now, still no disconect. Just ocasional lags. I know the problem is there, but somehow my windows goes around it. I lagg when others disconect, then im back to normal.

    IDK how this happened, but im glad it did :)

    still, i would like to have the problem with the DC and lagg fixed, because it gets annoying to lagg badly every 30-40 minutes, even if i dont DC.

    and Nyxa, hold on in there, i know youre getting the beating for this mess, even if it's not your fault.

    Hope soon we will be able to mock PWE about it as a past problem :)
    [SIGPIC]http://tinypic.com/r/2wq7p8l/6[/SIGPIC]
    New Beelzebut coming soon to a dark corner near you.....

    DADADADADA CIRCUS DADADADADADA AFRO circus afro circus afro POLKADOT POLKADOT POLKADOT AFRO
  • Daoi - Lionheart
    Daoi - Lionheart Posts: 2 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Why do I do still keep getting dced if they fixed it nada fixed to me........
  • Sanrize - Illyfue
    Sanrize - Illyfue Posts: 20 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Seems like game runs well, yay. <3

    Also tiny suggestion to PWE; would be nice to have double SP extended for EU servers,
    because we coudn't really enjoy this like other US servers at weekend. :)
  • kissypops
    kissypops Posts: 34 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Been in 5/half hours and no Dc, very happy player right now ... :):)
    [SIGPIC]http://i1336.photobucket.com/albums/o654/Kenzy_Littlemissnaughty_Rayne/kissypandy_zpse8e7c1bc.png[/SIGPIC]


    Never Underestimate The Predictability Of Stupidity ...


    <AzazealRayne's Princess>
  • EvilSheep - Illyfue
    EvilSheep - Illyfue Posts: 780 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Some of us haven't dc/ed for several hours now because the servers are able to handle it since there is only like 3 people that insisted on staying online, such as myself. Not because they fixed shiet but because people quit trying and lost all hope, trololol. If they had actually fixed it they would be telling us all about it here on forums expecting gratitude for the "hard work"...

    Nothing is fixed until they announce it's fixed and it breaks 5 seconds later and they try to fix it again. Come on now, this is PWE/FW we've all seen how stuff gets "fixed" around here. :cool:
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    ~ ★ EvilSheep® - Dark Vampire - Lv80 since March 2012 ★ ~
    Lv80 Divine Priest - Lv80 Wind Bard - Lv80 Frost Mage
    Breath of Life - Florence + The Machine
    Because my Vamp comes with her own Theme Song.
    I'm not amoosed by the default forum font.
  • Arizll - Eyrda
    Arizll - Eyrda Posts: 1,551 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Oh look fw GMs don't care about the game anymore. It's a Monday and they are clearly not communicating at all even when they are in office.:rolleyes:
  • EvilSheep - Illyfue
    EvilSheep - Illyfue Posts: 780 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand, MASS DC... Check-In alts are at work I guess. :rolleyes:

    I miss the days when I could bot overnight, seems like a far far away dream now...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    ~ ★ EvilSheep® - Dark Vampire - Lv80 since March 2012 ★ ~
    Lv80 Divine Priest - Lv80 Wind Bard - Lv80 Frost Mage
    Breath of Life - Florence + The Machine
    Because my Vamp comes with her own Theme Song.
    I'm not amoosed by the default forum font.
  • Summanus - Illyfue
    Summanus - Illyfue Posts: 419 Arc User
    edited May 2013
    OMG WTF BBQ they fixed it!!!! :eek::eek::eek:

    Well, not really. Still DC after a while, only reason not as often is the lack of people actually logging in.

    PWE should remove 6 of the realms now, as they are just literal ghost towns. You might save yourself some money by using less servers.

    That's my pro tip of the day.

    http://youtu.be/sTSA_sWGM44
    Summanus | 80 Diamond Geezer Protector - retired

    Play the game, don't let the game play you.