new way to multi-client

jace633549
jace633549 Posts: 17 Arc User
edited February 2018 in General Discussion
my friend found away to dual client its just kinda crappy.

login to arc
start FW
force terminate arc thru task manager
restart arc, login with alt
start FW

its a pain, but it works
Post edited by jace633549 on

Comments

  • ichdumm
    ichdumm Posts: 450 Arc User
    edited February 2018
    For those that use Ger / Eng client + had too change for some reasons.

    I had both clients on HDD root.

    i create for a simple + fast swapping between those versions, two batches.

    ________________________________________

    GER.BAT contain:

    rename "Forsaken World DE" "Forsaken World DE1"
    rename "Forsaken World EN" "Forsaken World DE"

    ____________________________________________

    ENG.BAT contain:

    rename "Forsaken World DE" "Forsaken World EN"
    rename "Forsaken World DE1" "Forsaken World DE"

    _______________________________________________

    Link to desktop and ready.

    If you want to use this too you need to evntually insert pathes or change the directory names to fit to your enviroment.

    AND !!! You do it on your OWN RISK. If in trouble ask your doctor or the next pharmacist ;)
  • ichdumm
    ichdumm Posts: 450 Arc User
    Simplify kicking ARC with:

    taskkill /IM ARC.exe

    no need to open Taskmanager + search + kill process + agree ;)

    Use Win+R and that command ;)
  • ichdumm
    ichdumm Posts: 450 Arc User
    edited February 2018
    For those that use BOTH clients and want to have "ä ö ü" in eng. client.
    Rename FONT directory in eng. client to FONT-ENG (or what ever) and copy over FONT directory from ger. client.
    Tryied for a couple of days now without any probs.
    Could be similar for other clients too.
    Post edited by ichdumm on
  • fw2database#6189
    fw2database#6189 Posts: 120 Arc User
    > @ichdumm said:
    > Simplify kicking ARC with:
    >
    > taskkill /IM ARC.exe
    >
    > no need to open Taskmanager + search + kill process + agree ;)
    >
    > Use Win+R and that command ;)

    Or write a simple prog to create a shortcut on desktop and run game as like u did with arc bypass.
  • ichdumm
    ichdumm Posts: 450 Arc User
    edited February 2018

    > @ichdumm said:

    > Simplify kicking ARC with:

    >

    > taskkill /IM ARC.exe

    >

    > no need to open Taskmanager + search + kill process + agree ;)

    >

    > Use Win+R and that command ;)



    Or write a simple prog to create a shortcut on desktop and run game as like u did with arc bypass.

    Sry, tooooo dump for it :(
    Normally i prefer 1Click solutions. But here i'm failed.

    Maybe it come out of my requirements.
    I had a ger client and a eng client installed on two different hdd. After the desaster i installed ARC. ARC never installed a client.
    So ARC only recognice the ger client. Maybe because ARC install is in ger language. Or a systemscan done by ARC during install.
    After some testing i move the eng client to same HDD (SSD) as the ger client and create those two batches to gain access to both languages.
    That now let every time i start the game (with play button in ARC) Patchersync.exe come up. That differ from other solutions i've been told/shown by others.
    Some looking around bring up the Taskkill solution so that i get rid of ARC. Yes, there is a way to get overlay killed too ;)
    Taskkill can be used in same sec as i press play in ARC. Any information for login to the game is stored in pipe then.
  • jobab
    jobab Posts: 16 Arc User
    https://pastebin.com/9USPr9pQ
    maybe this helps
    Copy content, create file fancyname.bat with it, edit the path and run
  • ichdumm
    ichdumm Posts: 450 Arc User
    jobab said:

    https://pastebin.com/9USPr9pQ
    maybe this helps
    Copy content, create file fancyname.bat with it, edit the path and run

    AHHH, great (!) that brings me into the right way :)
    _____________________________
    taskkill /f /im ArcChat.exe
    taskkill /f /im ArcOSBrowser.exe
    taskkill /f /im Arc.exe

    start /d "C:\Games\Forsaken World_en_20150729160506\update" pem.exe

    _________________________________________

    That are the key lines. Taskkill /F /im Arc.exe is enough. ArcOSBrowser will disapear too.

    My Batch now contains:
    _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    start /d ........

    Timeout /T 20 (20 sec waiting for Login to ARC | can set to >nul to be invisible)

    taskkill ......
    _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    Close to 1Click. Timeout for typing password because i do not save password.
  • amarantos
    amarantos Posts: 3,067 Arc User
    can someone put in laymans terms how to kill arcOSoverlay. have a win10 pc it doesn't show up on but on my win7 laptop trying to kill it from task manager does nothing as it pops right back up and adds excessive bog to ram usage.
  • fw2database#6189
    fw2database#6189 Posts: 120 Arc User
    > @amarantos said:
    > can someone put in laymans terms how to kill arcOSoverlay. have a win10 pc it doesn't show up on but on my win7 laptop trying to kill it from task manager does nothing as it pops right back up and adds excessive bog to ram usage.

    I will show later how to run client without arc's staff in memory.
  • amarantos
    amarantos Posts: 3,067 Arc User
    edited February 2018

    I will show later how to run client without arc's staff in memory.

    someone already pm me solution :)
  • fw2database#6189
    fw2database#6189 Posts: 120 Arc User
    edited February 2018
    amarantos said:

    I will show later how to run client without arc's staff in memory.

    someone already pm me solution :)
    ok =)

    but who still needs - here my noob code (C#):
    https://codeshare.io/amJw9X
    Compile it. rename to pem.exe. Place to game dir (before it rename original pem.exe to pem2.exe).
    If all done - run arc. Enter username and password. Then run FW from it.
    After that all arc staff will be killed from memory and ull get a shortcut on ur desktop.
    Who needs more explanation - pm.
  • ichdumm
    ichdumm Posts: 450 Arc User
    Did ARC save game language/used client ? I logged in to a other PC and after Login installed ger. client is not longer recogniced. Install is the only option i got there. Change to a second acc starts the ger client.
  • fw2database#6189
    fw2database#6189 Posts: 120 Arc User
    > @ichdumm said:
    > Did ARC save game language/used client ? I logged in to a other PC and after Login installed ger. client is not longer recogniced. Install is the only option i got there. Change to a second acc starts the ger client.

    RegistryKey key = Registry.LocalMachine.CreateSubKey(@SOFTWARE\Classes\Perfect World Entertainment);

    Try open registry editor. Goto path in code and look there. I tested only on my machine)
  • ichdumm
    ichdumm Posts: 450 Arc User
    edited February 2018
    ARC is driving me in to Parson State Asylum !!!1! Now it will work again. I did not change anything. But now i can simply use both clients as it was before.

    @fw2database

    I have both entries there ger/eng version. All pathes are correct.
  • sintuary
    sintuary Posts: 11 Arc User
    Well now they're just doing their best to murder the game outright, aren't they? Just ban all the players and get it over with.
  • binaryqueen#1815
    binaryqueen#1815 Posts: 11 Arc User
    seems such a pain in the... As if people didnt need more reason to quit the game lol



  • kumi
    kumi Posts: 114 Arc User
    edited March 2018
    *Shrug* I'm not even a serial multi-clienter, and I know this is a bad move. FW doesn't have the population for something like that. Even if they're trying to make people rely on each other more to get stuff done,
    A) FW has a long history of being very solo-friendly (Casual in general), so this change toward heavy team emphasis seems sudden, especially for long time players who are suddenly much more heavily depended upon for progress in the game
    B.) It's badly timed. Taking alts away only works when there's a big enough playerbase for people to come together and replace each other's alts. Now is, hands down, the lowest population this game has ever had. Between different time zones and schedules, there are very few people left to team up with to get stuff done. (And that's being generous about folks getting over drama for the sake of progress, too.)
    Houseplant of Lionheart server
  • chiffoncake
    chiffoncake Posts: 359 Arc User
    Let's do a "No Alts Day". only play one main, less stress, more fun, more interact with others and get ingame things done faster ;)
  • ichdumm
    ichdumm Posts: 450 Arc User
    edited March 2018
    more interact with others


    Others ? Really ? Wich OTHERS ? Go online and try to fill up even a grp with 3 for Lords. Seems most daytime impossible.
    Oh forgot DYOS server i'm typing about.
  • musicman10029
    musicman10029 Posts: 1 New User
    > @jace633549 said:
    > my friend found away to dual client its just kinda crappy.
    >
    > login to arc
    > start FW
    > force terminate arc thru task manager
    > restart arc, login with alt
    > start FW
    >
    > its a pain, but it works

    Yeah I have to do it this way to.